LLY: Twin turbo question...

SgtKilroy

'Merica!
Sep 30, 2009
SoCal
I'm pretty new to diesel tuning, and I was wondering... I've seen plenty of builds on the forum for adding a second turbo in line with another turbo, but would there be a benefit to running a single turbo on each exhaust bank? Or is that a completely rediculous idea? It seems like it would allow each one to operate more efficiently and lower EGT's... I know it would probably take something like EFI Live to rework the ECM, two boost/egt gauges, and two separate intakes at the least. Running two separate intercoolers might be an issue as well. I'm thinking two side by side with the ports on the outside in place of the stock one with fans might do the trick... Or possibly cut open the air dam and put the second intercooler behind it?

Builtlngbd

Aug 24, 2009
i think it was the s-10. would be neat to see it in a truck....Also there was a chevell that was in diesel power that had a dmax in it. it had the banks intake mans. with the same setup.

SgtKilroy

'Merica!
Sep 30, 2009
SoCal
Well I was thinking about setting another stock turbo from a wrecked truck, cleaning it up and adding it to my daily driver. But since they're the same size I doubt I would get much benefit from running them in line. I was just wondering if there would be any performance/fuel economy benefits and what they are, since it would be a good chunk of change to do all this. Not to mention all the time I'd be spending with my welder (and grinder of course).

gr8shot

Practically stock
Apr 28, 2009
Grand Island, NE
It takes 8 cylinders to spool one stock turbo, think how bad they'd perform with only 4 cylinders trying to spool them up.

In short, it's not the greatest idea.

Redbowties88

Sideways > Straight ;)
Aug 24, 2009
609 New Jersey