LB7: Should I be scared to buy an LB7

LB7duramaxlover94

Mar 17, 2019
Hi guys, I'm new to the form and I've got some questions about buying my first Duramax that you've probably heard before. I've been looking to buy an LB7, 2002 preferable. But I know about the injector problems and the pump rub on the transfer case. Because of that, I've been kind of weary of the LB7's. What's your opinion. Should I just get an LLY or LBZ? Or should I get the truck I've always wanted and put money aside for new injectors and fix the pump rub issue? Any info that would make me feel better about buying an LB7 would be appreciated.

NC-smokinlmm

<<<Future tuna killer
May 29, 2011
At Da Beach
They all have pump rub up until 07, I would just buy one that needs injectors and swap in SAC type and roll with it. I love the 02 front end..,

Jan 28, 2015
Ohio
Injectors are cheaper for lb7. I second what nc said. Get a set of sacs from lincoln diesel and a lift pump. That will cover your injector worrys. The pump rub can be fixed in 2 hours of your time. Merchant sells a kit with everything you need including new fluid for around 120$.

Kuzz

Its Me
Jun 18, 2017
Florida
I have an LB7 and i love it! Yes i have had my fair share of problems with it but it is to be expected with any vehicle especially after adding power. Although the truck has never left me stranded and starts up right away everytime!

gmduramax

Shits broke
Jun 12, 2008
Nor cal
I would get an LLY if possible but if you’re okay with changing injectors there’s nothing wrong with an LB7

THEFERMANATOR

LEGALLY INSANE
Feb 16, 2009
ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
The whole injector arguement in lb7's drives me nuts. They all can lose injectors, just most lly+ owners don't want to admit there p0087 is injectors. Yes, lb7 injectors have a track record of going out more often, but sac nozzles seem to have helped this, and lb7 injectors are cheaper to buy when they do go. Buy the truck you want is how I look at it.

torqued2dmax

Mar 26, 2017