DIY compound kit install

NinjaMax

WTF!
Oct 3, 2012
Severance, Colorado
Looking down the road (at least to this fall) i have really been toying with the idea of adding studs and twins to my truck. I have been pouring over different write ups online/youtube. However itll be my virgin run on this large of a project.
Obviously there is the risk of damaging/destroying hard parts with this kind of install done wrong, but its something i really want to do to learn.

questions- Specifically (HSP 475/stock, retaining 2nd battery location) kit and seem pretty strait forward?
-time frame, ill give myself a week of down time to get it done.
- I am by no means a master mechanic but im fairly mechanically inclined and do all the wrenching on my truck, albeit on a much smaller scale.
- Are there some things that only a seasoned builder would do that are not available to the "average" joe that would be problematic down the road?
-Tools-I think i have everything ill need, and im not afraid to buy what i dont have.
-nuts & bolts, dont laugh at this question:D im planning on getting a bunch of ziplock baggies and a sharpie....as i take take everything apart, it gets marked and set aside in its respective baggy?

So, thats my plan so far. Please chime in with experience / advise :hug:as i still my pay to have it done if its gonna be a bear!

thanks fella's

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal
Subbed and bumped to the top

I am looking into doing something similar and want to see what comes of this thread

countrycorey

Trust Me I'm an Engineer
Jan 30, 2010
LA
Here's what I can say I learned from my twin kit install:
1. Make sure you are familiar with the directions, get answers to any questions you have
2. Make sure you have all the tools required prior to starting the work
3. Verify all pieces/parts are accounted for
4. Get some help
5. Have extra fluids on hand (coolant, oil)
6. Take your time

Expect the install to take the better part of a weekend