bad or going bad injectors?? im a noob.

David_1025

Jul 30, 2023
Delphi874
Hello, i have 2003 2500hd lb7 with efi live ,stock injectors and internals fuel rate of 5mm cubed "supposed to be around 8mm cubed" with the rates per cylinder as follows: test was taken by use of snap on Apollo D8 scanner at operating temps no codes no other errors besides i an disconnected air bag and a bad glow plug rail .

break down with minus 3mm that missing from fuel rate below on the right

1: 2.1 1: 0.9
2: 1.4 2: -1.6
3: 1.6 3: -1.4
4: 0.2 4: -2.8
5: 0.7 5: -2.3
6: 1.0 6: -2.0
7: 1.3 7: -1.7
8: 1.0 8: -2.0

First off , Im a noobie to diesel engines, my concern is at idle sounds great runs smooth, during any acceleration there is a profound knocking or should i say clacking sound until rpms drop i.e. like going into overdrive , then it goes away.
am i possibly hearing to whats been referred to "fuel knock " ? any help, advice on how to move forward would be much appreciated. p.s if i posted in wrong section... im also a noob to the forum enviroment too, my apologies

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal
You might want to return the tune to stock and test again. The knock could be injectors or could be a bad tune with too much timing or both.

David_1025

Jul 30, 2023
Delphi874
You might want to return the tune to stock and test again. The knock could be injectors or could be a bad tune with too much timing or both.
first off thanks for taking the time to reply. its greatly appreciated!! definetly worth a shot to try, does anything look out of place with the numbers i posted? further more was my math correct with deduction 0f 3mm due to my fuel rate

David_1025

Jul 30, 2023
Delphi874
i should also point out i bought this truck as a basket case.. slowly building it. ecm already had efi live installed by previous owner, and i do not currently have the ability to revert to stock myself.. so i do not have the factory flash.

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal