What should be my first mod?

13dmax83

May 9, 2016
Deep Eaat Trxas
Ok guys, as my introduction stated earlier in the week, i am brand new to diesels. I have been doing tons and tons of research on the duramax and the many different mods and options to choose for it. So that being said, should i start with a CAI, or should i save my money and look into EFI live? Truck and engine are stock. Im just looking into and getting input on what i could and should start with.

roxyfever

Feb 11, 2016
terrell tx
If you want to push any kind of power over 430hp. Build trans then lift pump then tune it. Trans is a big coat but once its done you can really push the truck

Awenta

Sep 28, 2014
CT
Efi and Trans pressure tune. No need for an intake until you're well into built Trans territory.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

13dmax83

May 9, 2016
Deep Eaat Trxas
And what exactly are you talking about when you talk building the transmission? Are you referring to a shift kit or going with a whole new built tough trans?

Awenta

Sep 28, 2014
CT
And what exactly are you talking about when you talk building the transmission? Are you referring to a shift kit or going with a whole new built tough trans?
We mean take it to someone who knows what they are doing. Give them money and drive home happy. Don't buy any pre-built units unless it's done by a known quality builder. No purple.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Aug 3, 2013
Arizona
The 2011-newer trucks have pretty strong transmissions.. I dont know a ton about lml's, but from what people have told me and from what ive seen and read. They can hold a good amount of power on the stock trans, if I was you, I would look into a cp3 conversion, then tune.

motoking_1990

May 9, 2011
Terre Haute, IN