Total NooB question but please help! :)

LI16LML

Run till destruct
Feb 2, 2018
Long Island NY
Okay so I’m totally new to the duramax world I’ve had Cummins my whole life. Today I’m doing an oil change at 7700 mikes on my 2016. My questions are...

1) do I have to pre fill the oil filter like the Cummins??
2) I bought shell rotella T5 is this decent oil I looked on here everyone says rotella is good but which one?
3) I bought Lucas oil stabilizer is that okay to use in duramaxes used to put two bottles in my Cummins

JoshH

Daggum farm truck
Staff member
Vendor/Sponsor
Feb 14, 2007
Texas!!!
Oil questions are just about as bad as religion and political discussions.

1. You do not need to pre-fill the oil filter. Since it is positioned horizontally on the motor, it is pretty much impossible to keep it from running everywhere if you try that.

2. I think most people who use Rotella run either the conventional T4 or full synthetic T6. There is really nothing wrong with Rotella, but I prefer Mobil Delvac or Chevron Delo to Shell Rotella.

3. I don't like to add anything to my oil. The oil manufacturers develop a very specific additive package to make the oil work exactly how they design it to, and if you pour in another additive, it can dilute their formulation causing it to not work as designed. That said, there are people who swear by a certain additive and have used it religiously in every vehicle they have owned without issue. I'm not saying there is anything wrong with adding the Lucas, but I wouldn't do it.

LI16LML

Run till destruct
Feb 2, 2018
Long Island NY
Thank you for the answer I knew posting that kind of question was risky lol. Just so new to duramax don’t want to do the wrong thing.

Dozerboy

Jun 23, 2009
TX of course
I agree 100% with Josh. The Dmax is very easy on oil. Use just a plain Dino oil and change it when the oil life hits 0 or a little sooner if you want.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Novak

SQUIRREL TRYN TO GET A NUT
Jun 15, 2015