Torque Angle Sensor

TNRGreene

Kicked to the Curb
Sep 2, 2006
Bradenton, Florida
I understand that & I guess I didn;t think out my question far enough. I read all these guys doing head studs/head gaskets & never hear any mention of this. I'm guessing that most are not using it as I also guess this is not a tool the average Joe has in the tool box

stacks04

Nov 16, 2007
Terryville,Ct
i dont think, but not positive, the arp head studs use and angle, iirc they only use a lb measurement. just you need to do those 85 times:rofl:

standard head gaskets with gm bolts require the angle. some people torque them to the required lb then mark them with a marker and do it by eye i suppose. i mark everyone i do and i have a meter just so i can see if i miss any. it is easy to get distracted in a shop with 30 techs:eek:. the snap on torque wrench that has it built in is very nice.

standy

Jun 22, 2009
Royal Oak, Mi.
I am a motorycle tech, so I have one. Honda and Suzuki (as well as other manufacturers, I'm sure) want you to start with an initial torque, and then an angle on all their connecting rod bolts, which is usually 90 degrees. Most claim that it is a more accurate way to properly tension a bolt. I believe the accuracy comes from the fact that you are eliminating variables (grease, oil, dirt, etc.) in the threads and/or bolt hole that would cause inconsistencies in a final torque reading.

Last edited:

JoshH

Daggum farm truck
Staff member
Vendor/Sponsor
Feb 14, 2007
Texas!!!
It isn't that fancy of a tool. Just a degree wheel that is attached to a short extension and a clear housing with a pointer on it that spins on the extension and has a rod that you place against something to keep it from turning. I think I paid about $10 for mine. They're used for several things such as head bolts, main bolts, flywheel bolts and crank balancer bolt.

LT1BRD

sidelines expert
Mar 25, 2009
San Angelo, TX