Shop Air

Vrabel

TOYAHOLIC
May 22, 2008
Hewitt, NJ
Has anybody tried the new plastic piping for shop compressed air on a commercial level? how's the pricing? Going to help plumb a friends garage-6bays, 3 double deep. not sure to go plastic or black pipe.

cuminstrkmydmax

Sep 10, 2008
North East MD
What do you mean new plastic pipe?

Ive installed sch 80 pvc for air lines- sch 40 doesnt stand the pressure that alot of compressors can run.
I installed steel in my shop- but im a plumber by trade so i have all of the necessary cutting and threading machines sitting right there-
Personally- steel will last forever, wont break like plastic can as it gets older.
GOOD LUCK Steven

TeaBagger2006

Im a Garrett Nut Swinger
May 11, 2008
Bis ND
Why not coppe?r, I've worked on several fire houses and that's all we've run in the bays. But copper is pretty expensive rite now. I'm Not familiar with a plastic tubing to run compressed air

x MadMAX DIESEL

<<<< No Horsepower
Dec 30, 2008
Lexington, Ky
I've seen pvc used before. Not sure if it was sch 40 or 80... All I know is that it was white not grey, or black. Personnally I thought it was a dumbass idea, I'm not a plumber so idk if it is safe or not. Just common sense tells me to use something abit stronger.

cuminstrkmydmax

Sep 10, 2008
North East MD
All of these sort of new products that come out- its hard to keep up with them all:confused:
One thing to think about with using a product like that- in 5 years if something breaks or he gets a leak, then what? If he uses steel or pvc any local hardware store will have what you need to fix it.
And white pvc is sch 40- rated for less than 200 psi- and it gets brittle over time if exposed to any sunlight- bad idea when dealing with compressed air!. Grey pvc is sch. 80 and is rated 600 psi IIRC- and and is the only plastic pipe i would recommend to use.
Pex is rated for 200 psi as well- but it wont burst becoming shrapnel like pvc can-

GOOD LUCK Steven

custom8726

Feb 25, 2008