Info: Newbie help

ElectricRook

Apr 15, 2020
I'm considering a used Duramax. I've got my eye on a few on CraigsList, and Cars.com. A few look like they've taken some battle damage.

I've done some lurking on the trouble-shooting threads. What scanner will read the codes? I have an Innova, will that show me everything?

TheBac

Why do I keep doing this?
Staff member
Apr 19, 2008
Mid Michigan
Moved to Smoke Signals. Agreed, if you want someone to help, you need to give more info.

ElectricRook

Apr 15, 2020
What I'm watching

I'm a field geologist, I need a dependable 2500 4x4, and I'm a total cheap-skate, I want a low cost 4x4 I can take to 500k.

I'm watching/drooling over the the list below. The question, is will my innova scanner read all engine codes, or is there another scanner I need.

I'm a fair shade-tree mechanic, I've rebuilt a transfer case, I can do bearings, brakes, drivelines, timing belts, water pumps, most equipment repairs, and I used to be an electronics technician, so all the electrical is in the ballpark.

I saw a thread about buying a used truck, where the OP said "I'd like to feel the upper radiator hose on a cold startup." What is he checking for?

a 2001 2500 4x4, $14k, 145k miles, 4x4, with nice big front and rear bumpers, a winch, a shell. I'm a field geologist, so this rock crawler looks pretty nice. Nearby to me.

a 1997 2500 4x4, long bed, looks like Grandpa's camper rig, 63k miles, $15k. 500 miles away.

a 06 2500 4x4, $14k, 49k miles, has taken some battle damage, missing the tailgate, dented fenders, photos look like a repo yard, 200 miles away.

there are two 2500 4x4 about 200 miles from me asking $5500 and $6500, these look pretty trashed, low miles, one has a vertical stack cut into the bed, both are under 100k miles. There are a few "starts but has engine codes."

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal