LLY to LB7

FCmills

Llytolb7er
Jan 27, 2021
I know I am doing this backwards. I had a 2wd 2001 lb7 that had 468000 miles on. My nephew totaled the truck so I pulled it and did a complete rebuild. I picked up a 4x4 2004.5 with a lly. I pulled that engine and installed the lb7. I thought it was plug and play. The connectors are different on a few things. I have changed engine harness transmission harness to lb7. Ecm tcm fuse block. I just need to figure out the harness coming from the dash. The plugs are different.

FCmills

Llytolb7er
Jan 27, 2021
I was going to change dash harness but it will not plug up to the center AC heat control. Dual climate new truck. 2001 control is a different size panel

FCmills

Llytolb7er
Jan 27, 2021
This is my first time ever asking for help. I am not a mechanic by no means just messing around

FCmills

Llytolb7er
Jan 27, 2021
Putting lly heads on it later when injectors fail. I had the lb7 built before I know I was getting a lly.

THEFERMANATOR

LEGALLY INSANE
Feb 16, 2009
ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
01-02 is a COMPLETELY different wiring architecture than 03-07. They do NOT just interchange. You won't find much info for putting an 01 into an 04 as most pull LB7's yo put in LLY's. You have opened up pandora's box to be honest. This will be alot of custom wiring. And do NOT assume that just because it plug's in, it us right. 02 to 03 was a MASSIVE wiring change.

Reactions: 2004LB7

FCmills

Llytolb7er
Jan 27, 2021
Thanks for the knowledge. If I swap entire dash harness as well under hood wiring if should work. I hope. What if I bought a standalone harness? I am lost really. I wish I would have known I was getting a lly before building the lb7

zakkb787

<that’s not me...
Sep 29, 2014
Granite Falls NC