How H20 Meth effects engine oil

lotsofmiles

Father of the Van
Dec 4, 2008
Michigan
I'm no brain scientist or rocket surgeon. I stumbled on this and wanted to share what I found.

I put a Snow stage 3 MPG/Max h20/meth setup on my 2007 LBZ truck at about 124,000 miles and I'm now up to 187,000. Shortly after that I did an oil analysis and was shocked by what I saw. High Aluminum, Silicon, Sodium, Potasium and Magnesium. The lab thought I had a coolant leak. But I hadnt noticed any, and with the amount of miles I put on the truck I thought for sure I would have noticed it by then.

After phone calls & emails to Snow, the oil analysis lab, Labonte, and others I decided to change the water source and retest.

The testing went down like this:

for each test the engine oil and filter was changed, oil was ran aprox 5000 miles and a sample was pulled.

The only extra work done to the engine in the entire time was the oil pressure sensor was replaced.

1st test -

I was running any water from any source. Water from home (softened tap water), water from truck stop spickets like those you see at the camper/rv fillup lanes at Flying J (only the safe for drinking ones) and rest area water spickets.

This test resulted in the high levels mentioned above.

2nd test -

Switched to only distilled mineral free water.

This test all the high levels were back down into acceptable areas.

Talked to Snow after this test and they asked if I would switch back to tap water and test again. So I did.

3rd test -

Switched back to tap water.

What do you know, all the mineral levels mentiond above went right back up.

I thought I was done testing. But getting ready to leave out on a trip I thought I had 5 gallons of straight meth but it was empty. I had just changed the oil that day so it was fresh clean oil, and there was a jug of WWS and an oil sample container on the shelf looking at me. So I ran only Peak brand WWS for about 5000 miles and pulled another sample.

4th test -