Head gasket build

lb7resto

Jul 19, 2023
NC
So I'm about to tear into this truck I just bought that is blowing coolant out of the reservoir. I am trying to get a plan together for what all I might change from stock while I'm in there. I am also trying to get a handle on its current state before I tear it all apart. I am new to diesel trucks though so I need some guidance.

Here is what I know:
- 2004 Silverado 2500 LT CCSB Auto 255k miles
- Truck has been sitting, parked by PO when it first had the issue about 2 years ago, dead batteries for about 6 months.
- Took a bunch of priming with that hand pump on the filter to get it to run (idk if that would be expected or is a sign of something. The 3cyl Yanmar in my tractor will start right up like you just turned it off after sitting for a year)
- It runs about like I would expect a gasser to run that has a bad misfire, very lopey but not consistently and shakes the truck a bit, and you can hear the loss of compression when it is turning over
- No water in the oil
- It has had a tuner of some kind at some point. PO mentioned that PO before him had the tuner display in the overhead console.
- Code P0088 is pending and comes right back