LMM: Watch out i hooked me 2 pcv hoses together

Status
Not open for further replies.

3500madmax4x4

Dec 18, 2009
texas
Why did my truck shoot oil out of the tail pipe... I went to do a pcv reroute.. I thought well why do a T and run it under the truck ? So it can cause any smoke ect,, Well i did a 5/8 hose from one side valve cover to the other .. Let me tell you what, big white smoke and oil every were, it was like a fire hose blowing out smOke and oil ???????????????????????????? Why

darkness

Jul 15, 2009
vegas
now you have a ncv lol. you need to tee that line and run it to atmosphere. all that pressure youre building has to go somewhere and thru your turbo and out the exhaust it went

countrycorey

Trust Me I'm an Engineer
Jan 30, 2010
LA
You should have put the T in the line and ran it down under the truck, the engine did not have any where else to vent to so it blew it out the tail pipe

3500madmax4x4

Dec 18, 2009
texas
i did the the T afterwords..... but i wanted to know why i got the fire hose effect ..hey i found a weld in the cat, i missed when i shoved a 3in pipe thru it..still dripping oil thru that spot.. and i havnt started it in 2hrs ..does that give you a idea of the amount of oil it blew thru there ,,,,yikes. but why that much is something wrong ... i got the pcv idea from you guys:eek:

TheBac

Why do I keep doing this?
Staff member
Apr 19, 2008
Mid Michigan
PCV -- Positive Crankcase Ventilation -- used to vent the pressure buildup in the crankcase (some cyl pressure does leak into the crankcase when engine is running)

You tied both sides together instead of venting to atmosphere, so you had NO venting at all. Pressure kept building inside the engine case, and it eventually has to vent SOMEWHERE, in your case out the exhaust (maybe thru the EGR system?)
Time will tell if you hurt anything, you're just lucky you didnt blow out your main seals.

But dont come on here and blame the forum because you didnt know what you were doing.

3500madmax4x4