Power Steering leak

countrycorey

Trust Me I'm an Engineer
Jan 30, 2010
LA
I have been keeping an eye on a power steering hose leak for the last several weeks. It has now gotten the point where its spotting everywhere I park and have to add fluid once or twice a week.

My question is how difficult of a job is this? Any tips:
Take off wheel and fender liner?
Remove hot side intercooler tube?
Come in from the bottom or fender?

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

Last edited:

LBZ_Baker98

Jul 8, 2016
Texas
Fender liner and top as well. But I do have to remove the CAC pipe. Not to bad of a job. Get you a line wrench. Will help alot in those tight spaces! :thumb:

WVRigrat05

Wound for sound
Jan 1, 2011
French Creek, West Virginia
I've always took the top left line off the hydroboost and blew the fluid out of the pump, pulled the cac pipe, broke the lines loose on the pump and pulled them out. They can be a pain to get back on without pulling the belt and loosening the pump but it's been a long while since I've done it to remember.

TheBac

Why do I keep doing this?
Staff member
Apr 19, 2008
Mid Michigan
I dont remember how I went about replacing the lines when I did my HB, but I do remember it wasnt all the difficult.

05LLYDMAX

Midget Nate
Jun 29, 2013
Best way ive found is through wheel well, just remove the liner and IC pipe and you will have all kinds of room.

countrycorey

Trust Me I'm an Engineer
Jan 30, 2010
LA
Now that yall have provided the tips and procedure, I am in need of a flare nut wrench set. Anyone have any suggestions?

Chevy1925

don't know sh!t about IFS
Staff member
Oct 21, 2009
Phoenix Az
i actually prefer my snap on open end wrench over the cheaper flare nut wrenches i have. i dont know what they did different to these but they dont deflect/open up and grip extremely well on the nut with these little grooves in the mouth of the wrench. Have yet to round a head off of a flare nut.