LB7: Needing to replace injectors on an '03

BARBER

Farm Truck
Jul 17, 2013
Owanka, SD
This is my first tech question on here and bear with me I'm still a newb but have been doing a lot of reading, researching, and few phone calls so far. Picked up a 03 this summer that currently has 168k on it in complete stock form. Previous owner traded it for a half ton. When I first picked it up, it had a slight haze of white/blue smoke coming out of it and has grown to get worse. Currently, it smokes fairly decently, but not like it's on fire. My mileage since owning has been around 16-17 with daily and towing miles. Secondly, and I haven't taken the time to run the VIN to find out exactly when they were changed out, but I was told the injectors were replaced under warranty around the 50-60k mark.

So since these injectors have around 110k or so miles on them, I figured it would be the wisest choice to go ahead and drop in all new ones, along with all the proper O rings, gaskets, etc., including new fuel lines. I do intend on going bigger. Thinking no more than 30% over. At first I was looking at Industrial 15 or 20% overs, until I read the injector poll thread on here and read about (if I remember right) just one guy having good luck with their injectors. I read a lot of good info about Big Dippers and So Cal's injectors, along with Exergys too. I see Duramax Tuner has 30% exergys for a nice price with only a $800 core charge. I think I may go with those. Any input on yay or nay on the Exergys or Industrials??

It should be noted I do have an AirDog lift pump ready to go on, plan on doing a CAT filter adapter, have gauges installed, and also will have it EFI Live tuned after the injector install is all buttoned up. Also, future mods, I plan on doing a built trans. Truck has 35k on a rebuilt unit with a billet convertor. Thats all I know. Might look into more boost and/or head studs. I've also looked into a bigger CP3 as well to feed the bigger injectors.