Question: Keep my truck or go new?

Animals1234

Jun 8, 2017
Hello guys,

I am a long time lurker and don't post very much but I like reading what you guys post and your thoughts are. I am still the noob here...lol. Hopefully it's in the right section also, my apologies ahead of time if it's not.

What I have is an 05 lly that I've been working on. It has manifolds, Garrett's drop in 3794va turbo, head studs, wc high flow bundle kit, Suncoast gmax kit with a 1056 converter, air dog 95, ppe front end parts, rear end rebuilt, and new driveshaft.

The truck has been great to me but I'm always worried on what's going to break next. So I've been toying around the idea of a (13-18 ram w/ an aisin or L5P) and wanted some of your feedback. I've driven the new trucks and they seem pretty good from the factory. Do you think selling the truck I've rebuilt is worth keeping around for another year or two or jump the gun?

Thanks

zakkb787

<that’s not me...
Sep 29, 2014
Granite Falls NC
If it were me, I’d keep yours. You already know the truck and those new ones have a hefty price tag. Also, drive a cummins once and you’ll never want to sell your classic. A lot of guys like their l5p truck. Less to go wrong on your IMO tho. Only way I’d get a newer one is a half ton gasser.

BlkMax

Sep 1, 2008
Wasilla, AK
If it were me, I would just keep your LLY and be happy with the results. You didn't say how it was tuned, but with the transmission already done, you should have a truck that scoots.

You didn't say the mileage, my DD Emma has 330K miles on it now, and I am looking forward to driving her to 500k. Most miles Ive ever had on a rig, and I just cannot bring myself to spend the ~$70k for a new diesel truck, especially when I have one with more power right now.

Having said that, if you want a new truck go buy it. I'm keeping mine.:thumb:

Animals1234

Jun 8, 2017