Headgaskets, OEM VS Fel Pro

1pieceatatime

Mar 30, 2014
Schuyler NY
I know that everyone seems to push the OEM gaskets. Whats the general thoughts on Fel Pro's? Anyone prfer them ( or any other brand for that matter) instead of the OEM? I searched a bit and a didn't find much.

TROJAN366

Gold Rush
Jan 13, 2012
MASS
I am no expert but I believe the new factory gaskets are the way to go. Grade C's I believe.

1pieceatatime

Mar 30, 2014
Schuyler NY
I probably should have mentioned that I have done a handful of headgasket jobs with the Fel Pro grade Cs and no issues to date.

I found some older threads that talk about the Cometics being junk. It just seems like there is no info out there about anyone actually using anything other than OEM.

BobbyBDirtyMax

US Marine Corps Retired
Feb 15, 2013
Madisonville, KY
I've always used OEM gaskets and never had any issues, as temperamental as head gaskets can be on these trucks, I stick with what I know works, OEM. FelPro is good stuff though from what I've seen on gas stuff over the years, trial and error I suppose but it's a hell of a lot different swapping BBC gaskets vs a DMax.

Yellow Jacket

WannaBe Sled Puller
Feb 11, 2009
Waterloo, IA
"If it ain't broke, don't fix it!". I've always had great luck with stock gaskets, and many others also, that's why they don't try other brands.

New stock C grades are $32 a piece or something, how much cheaper can the others be??

1pieceatatime

Mar 30, 2014
Schuyler NY
Well there you go.

OEM is the way to go.

And this is exactly as productive as I expected this conversation to be.....But I figured it was worth a shot.

"If it ain't broke, don't fix it!". I've always had great luck with stock gaskets, and many others also, that's why they don't try other brands.

New stock C grades are $32 a piece or something, how much cheaper can the others be??

Well, I was using Fel Pro's at $70 a piece and I didn't think it was broke. :roflmao: