Duramax 3rd gen camaro

lunati397

Sep 21, 2011
Just breaking the ice on here but I am starting a project to include a 03 2500 and a 91 camaro.

I am aware of all the obsticals and have the skills to pull this off but I know I will need the help of you guys. I have the car and donor truck already and im still doing some research until I get back home. No im not a colledge kid I am a Acft mechanic in the Airforce and have spent the last 6 months in Afganistan but should be home in a few weeks.

some of my major obsticals will be the height of the D max if anyone out there wants to measure their engine that would be awsome

I have a 4L80 that I will build to its max with hardend internals

I will definately be doing a swap thread on here Dmaxforum and thirdgen.org

My goals are to get the motor to 500 plus hp with my own custom mods efi live lift pump and look into modifying the cp3. The truck has 20k injectors so they wont be a worry right now. I also want to get my car in a magazine which if I pull it off and get it into the 9s should happen.

R_F_F

Mar 15, 2011
Pierceton, IN
I've always loved third gens.. And the duramax... Keep us posted :D. You're probably going to need at least a cowl hood. There's not a ton of room under there. And why not use an Allison?

Oct 16, 2008
Idaho
I've always loved third gens.. And the duramax... Keep us posted :D. You're probably going to need at least a cowl hood. There's not a ton of room under there. And why not use an Allison?

Sounds cool. :thumb: Why would you use an allison? 4l80e is considerable lighter than the Allison and in a light car it shouldn't have any issue holding the power. Space wise, the Allison is going to swallow up a mile of trans tunnel in a car too.

Edit: Treed by SmokeShow!

Mike L.

Got Sheep?
Staff member
Vendor/Sponsor
Aug 12, 2006
Fullerton CA

It will hang too low. With the light weight the 4L80 should hold for a while.

lunati397

Sep 21, 2011