Diesel fuel filling #3 after injector replacement please help!

Boatracer69r

Jul 14, 2015
I didn't know where to put this post so if you need to move it to the appropriate place I would appreciate it. I'm new to diesels and don't know a lot about them. I've always been a gas engine guy so bare with me while I try to explain what is going on with my truck.

I recently just replaced all eight injectors on my 2002 GMC with reman Bosch injectors. After getting it put all back together the computer threw a code saying #3 was misfiring. We took it back down and replaced the # 3 injector with another Bosch injector. After putting it all back together again, it did the same thing. We then discovered diesel fuel is filling up number 3 cylinder and we cant figure out why. Could it the ficm, a leaking return fuel line, wiring harness? We are at a loss as to what it could be. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Boatracer69r

Jul 14, 2015
Yes we did a compression check and everything checked out great. I dont have the numbers in front of me, but my friend who is helping me (he has the shop and area/tools to do all this) said he did the compression check and everything was great. He is at a loss as well, that is why I am reaching out to people. He said that he did a powerstroke and had to replace the ficm.

Dmax87

Dec 3, 2013
Not quite sure how diesel is filling up the cylinder. Sure you have all harnesses in correct locations and plugged in correctly? Are you saying #3 is just stuck wide open or??????

baddaddition

Mar 10, 2013
Id say ya might have either dirty fuel line of continue to get dirt in it where it is hanging open maybe... Just a thought. Lb7s are temperamental little B*****s. You sure you got the wires on correctly? Reds to the fro t yellows to the rear and red with red yellow with yellow.?

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

catman3126

Ehhh?.... You don't say?
Jul 24, 2012
NE Oregon