Help: Education

motoking_1990

May 9, 2011
Terre Haute, IN
This is probably in the wrong topic. So I been think for a while about continuing my education. I can pretty much do everything on a vehicle except one thing, transmissions. I have done a few but am in no way an expert. I would like to learn the fluid dynamics of them and how everything works together. I have basics down I think.

Is there a vocational college people went to that taught them or is it a self taught profession? I have looked into the local ivy tech and they offer an automotive that does basics with hands on. The problem is I don't need everything looking mainly for just transmission repair. Anyone have any ideas?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

clrussell

pro-procrastinator
Sep 23, 2013
I've got my Allison certification for 1-2k and 3-4K I got it tru my work but before I had to do a bunch of online courses then after that sign up for hands on.

More Info please. I only need 1000 stuff.

TheBac

Why do I keep doing this?
Staff member
Apr 19, 2008
Mid Michigan
Transmissions, Allisons in particular, scare me. :roflmao:

Far too easy to screw one up.

rgullett83

Oct 27, 2008
Illinois
As Mike L has always said they are simple until they don't work;) I have talked to him, Evan, Merchant, George at suncoast, Matt at blackout etc.. With random issues over the years. All have been helpful and very knowledgeable. There are some very intelligent folks here

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

motoking_1990

May 9, 2011
Terre Haute, IN