2nd gear launch

LWATSON

future trans limpers
Jul 30, 2008
Scotland Neck NC
I've got a really tight converter and struggle to get a decent launch. The best I've got with my new charger, S475 is a 1.8X With my stock charger I could easily get low to mid 1.7s and had to be careful not to lose traction. With the tires I have now I would have been in the 1.6s with the stock charger. I feel like I'm leaving a couple tenths on the table now. I've heard its easier to build boost with a 2nd gear launch but It seems to me this would be very hard on the converter, just looking input-advise. I'm not ruling out a converter swap I just hate to do it just for drag racing, my converter does everything else fine.

Hot COCOAL

May the farce be with you
Jun 9, 2012
I am a newb. So take this with a grain, i have seen devices that will dial in exactly the fuel needed for a perfect launch. not sure, but i remember it being called a mixture control device. Mounts in the cab it is basically a knob that you control feul supply with from the cab, that works instantly. Not sure if this helped or just sounded dumb to y'all. Also just tryin to get ten posts so i can start an album in my profile.

LWATSON

future trans limpers
Jul 30, 2008
Scotland Neck NC
Thanks for the help but the mixture control adjustment wont help my issue. I have a really tight converter and a large single turbo. Bad combo for drag racing!

TheBac

Why do I keep doing this?
Staff member
Apr 19, 2008
Mid Michigan
IMO, not much you can do other than to swap out to a looser converter. Which one are you running now? ML?

ecc_33

Aug 10, 2006
Amanda, Ohio
you'll end up buring up clutches starting in 2nd gear 4hi drag racing! It does work but not for long lol.

Hot COCOAL

May the farce be with you
Jun 9, 2012
In this situation if you were to add a twin and tuning, would the converter still be a problem, is a higher stall speed necessary to hook up @ launch with a high hp diesel?

Signed- lost but learning

paint94979