Hello from Wisconsin

Bdsankey

Vendor
Vendor/Sponsor
Feb 1, 2018
Neenah, Wisconsin
Hello all, my name is Brad and I'm a mechanical engineer hailing from Wisconsin.

I own a 2005 LLY EC/SB, loaded, leather, sunroof. I am the second owner and picked it up with 312k miles for $5,000 all stock other than a predator programmer/intake/lift pump.

I grew up in my father's auto shop and progressed onto acquiring my Bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering.

About the Truck
The trans was rebuilt at 320k (approx) with stock shafts, SunCoast 1058, tcase brace ect and I was very pleased with the trucks new found power.

Mods: Round 1
Two summers ago (2016) a couple of injectors stuck open and it was deemed time for new injectors. My head gaskets were gone also creating the ticking time bomb it was @ 342k miles.

I built my own traction bars out of 2" OD x 1.5" ID A513 DOM tube, 3/8" brackets, and Ballistic Fab 2.63" joints front/rear.

At this time it got 60% overs from Exergy, an Exergy 10mm pump used from a friend, WCFab 3" bridge/cold side/hot side, and a Danville 68mm Stage 2R 4094. The truck dyno'd @ 671hp/1187tq in April 2017.

Mods: Round 2
Toward the end of Summer 2017 the truck started to idle weird and finally started showing signs of low compression. In order to fund my engine build I sold my rust free CC/SB 2002 LB7, leather/loaded and headed to the forums to see what was holding power and what wasn't.

I ended up on the below for the engine build:
-CP Carrillo Hybrid Kit (rods/pistons/rings/wrist pins)(saves 4lbs out of rotating assembly, has 0.202" longer rod)
-SunCoast billet flexplate (they ran a sale end of 2017 for $450 shipped)
-Wagler Stage 2AF Street Cam
-Wagler pushrods
-Comp Camps valve springs (almost identical to the SoCal springs, and they are lighter than SoCals with TI retainers)
-Fluidampr (I know, people say they break cranks but I feel they are not the cause)
-Melling M316 oil pump
-New GM oil cooler
-Coated main/cam/rod bearings