LB7: What to do? New Sac injectors, or new truck?

outtatimexx

Aug 21, 2017
Perry, Ga.
Hi everyone! Glad to be a member here, lots of good discussions. Here is my dilemma. I have owned an '02 LB7 since 2006. Good truck, no problems, except new injectors around summer, 2008.Courtesy GM., at 108k. Now over 180k, and started getting smoke at idle, so I did the 4 cans of Seafam in 10 gal. diesel, and it almost stopped completely, now I get intermittent hazing from time to time, but it is drivable, with decent mileage. Here's my dilemma. Should I go with the new Sac style injectors and add a Fass, or go with LLY heads and electronics, or just go find a later model with low miles- yeah, right! I am a retired mechanic, so repairs would be for the most part, the cost of parts. I like my truck, and wouold be hard-pressed to find another, but at this stage of the game, Given the issues with ULSD, should I just shoot for something built after 2007? In other words, am I gonna always need to run additives to offset the dry diesel, or will the Sac's solve part of this? I am currently running a Donaldson 3 micron filter on a Nicktane adapter, and adding either Seafoam or Lucas to every tankful. Just asking for opinions and observations. Looks like I may be headed toward injectors very soon, and I'd just like some feedback. BTW truck still looks and operates great! Just want it to be dependable. Also, anybody run Sac's on a stock tune? Problems? Thanks in advance, Guys!

036.6turbo

Jan 17, 2014
I swapped my LB7 out for and LBZ, I had no issues with the LB7 other than the cost of injectors.

Mines an 03, it is a little harder to do on a 02, but still doable.

Mpsoldier

That just happened!
Mar 10, 2010
In my House
sac injectors are amazing i run them in kodiaks all the time at stock power also a lot of pickups that are used just for plowing or landscaping. Changes the exhaust tone, drive ability and longevity of the truck in all positive ways

TheBac

Why do I keep doing this?