LB7: Problem Shifting at 3000RPM

03DuraMax4x4

Sep 4, 2010
Hattiesburg, MS
Hi,

I'm new to Diesels. I have a 2003 Silverado 2500HD DuraMax. Everything in it is stock. It has 153K miles. I recently had 4 of the fuel injectors replaced. The others tested out good. The air filter is almost new (about 3K miles - Fram ToughGuard).

Earlier today I was parked up a steep hill and had less than 1/4 tank of gas. To make a long story short, the truck died on my right after cranking and it took some work to get it started, but after adding fuel it finally cranked.

My question is this: After getting it started back up I drove the truck around and decided to test the acceleration. I noticed that when I'd floor it (at about 20mph) the truck would accelerate until it got to about 2900-3000 RPM and then act like it was choking out: It would sit at that RPM range and start loosing power. As soon as I let off the gas slightly and the RPMs dropped to about 2500 it shifted up and the turbo kicked in. This is the first time I have noticed it do this. I normally don't floor it (gradually accelerate and let teh turbo kick in), but this time I wanted to push it a little more and see what it had. My thinking is that it should have shifted up regardless of the RPMs. I had about 1/2 a tank of fuel when I was testing the acceleration.

Any comments / suggestions would be much appreciated.

03DuraMax4x4

Sep 4, 2010
Hattiesburg, MS
Thanks,

I'll do that. The guy that installed the new fuel injectors supposedly installed a new fuel filter, but it won't hurt to replace it to be on the safe side (I'm not very happy with the overall experience with him).

Will post later on with the results.

TheBac

Why do I keep doing this?
Staff member
Apr 19, 2008
Mid Michigan
You could also be lower on fuel than 1/4 tank. Sometimes the gauge lies. Get some fuel in it, too.

03DuraMax4x4

Sep 4, 2010
Hattiesburg, MS
Here is an update on the truck: