LBZ fuel knock, multiple misfires?

DIGGLER

Feb 6, 2011
SC
I'm sure you guys have heard this before, but im new to the duramax club, and honestly i feel lost right now. :(
I bought my truck with an issue, and felt fairly sure it was fuel knock. the guy i bought it from said a gm tech took a look at it and said the issue was a piston wrist pin. sounds similar, i would say.... you can put your head above the engine and cant distinguish which side the noise is coming from. sounds like all over the place, honestly. i dont feel any blowing out of the oil fill, and there is a small amount of smoke out of the exhaust. it needs to turn over and sputter a few times to get started, and also seems to lose its prime after awhile.
i did a few logs with efi live, and the #2 injector had a balance rate of 11.5. the other cylinders were pretty much in tolerance other than #5, which was around 7. rail pressure was showing good, so i replaced #2 injector. truck runs exactly the same. did another log, and #2 is still 11.5 or more. i did the ice pick deal to no avail.
any suggestions? should i do a compression check on all cylinders? crank position sensor? faulty wiring?

Attachments

• trucklog10.jpg
    trucklog10.jpg
    175.3 KB · Views: 52
  • DTCs10.jpg
    DTCs10.jpg
    143.3 KB · Views: 40

DIGGLER

Feb 6, 2011
SC
whats up with all the DTCs? i cleared them just before making the last log, and then rechecked them. all those misfire codes along with the crank position code has me wondering.
i assume the 2 failure to communicate with ecm/tcm module codes happened during cranking when the voltage dropped?

i ordered a diesel compression test gauge, i needed one anyways. hopefully it will be of help.

JD4440

<< Lo-Carb Monster
Feb 27, 2009
Orlinda, TN
Ice pick is not for an LBZ. Did you replace # 2 per EFILive or per firing order ? I may be wrong but I think there was an issue there :confused:

RKTMech

Idiot with a wrench
Aug 18, 2008
The Norco's