fuel leaking around tranny???

saint

Feb 26, 2011
NW Connecticut
im new to diesel pick-ups and on gas engines fuel never came out of my trannys lol. maybe there is something above the tranny leaking that i can see but it sure as hell looks like fuel is pouring out from around my tranny. its an automatic. i just bought this truck and im freaking out! any help please?? :confused:

Mike L.

Got Sheep?
Staff member
Vendor/Sponsor
Aug 12, 2006
Fullerton CA
im new to diesel pick-ups and on gas engines fuel never came out of my trannys lol. maybe there is something above the tranny leaking that i can see but it sure as hell looks like fuel is pouring out from around my tranny. its an automatic. i just bought this truck and im freaking out! any help please?? :confused:

You have 2 fuel lines secured at the trans on the driver side.

saint

Feb 26, 2011
NW Connecticut
im gona go stick my head back up in there again but i did see those lines before. fuel is comming down or out bolth sides of the bell housing

rgullett83

Oct 27, 2008
Illinois
I have also seen a few injection pumps leak, and the fuel run down the back of the engine, down the bellhousing

RichLMM

Sep 5, 2010
North Kingstown RI
had the same problem a little while ago took it to my buddies shop we looked everywhere couldn't find a leak before i towed it to his shop i had fuel on the bellhousing too and a good sized puddle in my driveway...

sweetdiesel

That's better
Aug 6, 2006
Thailand
I have also seen a few injection pumps leak, and the fuel run down the back of the engine, down the bellhousing

x2

If it is going down both sides of the bellhousing it could be the cp3 or fuel injector lines/ fuel rail

If you dont have a aftermarket lift pump then i doubt it would be the low pressure fuel lines.

and dont think it would be the fuel filter.

i would stick a rag in the valley and then start the truck...Be carfull to not stick your hand in there while the truck is running

rap rags around the inj lines too