LBZ: Truck setup for towing

tylerb320

Jul 10, 2019
Hi guys,
I just recently purchased a 2007 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Classic CCSB LBZ LT3 and this is my first diesel. As far as I can tell this truck is completely stock except for some 285 tires that are on it that will be getting swapped to 265 on 16 inch rims. I am the second owner of this truck and you can tell the previous owner took care of this truck, this truck also has never had a 5th wheel or a gooseneck in the bed. I am not looking to make a racing truck, or a sled pulling truck I am looking more for trailer/camper pulling truck. I plan on doing a WCFAB High Flow kit to get rid of the EGR, I'm thinking a 95gph FASS or Airdog lift pump w/ CAT fuel filter or delete factory filter and one of Mike L's transmission cooler's. Since I am new to this I wanted to reach out to you guys with knowledge and see what you guys recommend that I do. I know on the WCFAB website it also gives you options of up pipe's and manifolds ect. and this is where I would like to seek your guys opinion. Thank you guys in advance.

Tothemax

xgmtech
Oct 16, 2014
new york
yes to the lift pump but i would leave the factory filter and only use a gm filter there. next if you put 5th wheel / goose neck rails in use the good plates that bolt to the frame not the 4 little L brackets. last is a down pipe and a nice 4 inch exhaust

tylerb320

Jul 10, 2019
Tothemax,
When you say use a gm filter, does it matter if it is a AC Delco or if it is a Racor? I currently have a Racor PFF50216 filter on there right now. Also, do you a preference in which brand of a lift pump to use and would you recommend a sump? I also have been looking at exhaust from down pipe back no muffler, I have been thinking about doing the 5 inch MBRP stainless steel exhaust.

06gmc

Loud and Heavy
Jun 24, 2017
SWMO