Toolbox recommendations

Pwinland95

Jan 24, 2015
Illinois
Alright guys so I'm going to purchase a toolbox. I've looked at matco and snap on the most. The classic 78 and 4s series mainly. A double bay box with a work top. What is everyone using and why? I wanna make sure I go the right route and I'm happy with it. I'll be using the box pretty much every day as I am starting to turn wrenches more for our family business. Just curious what all you guys prefer! Thanks.

matt2778

Jun 9, 2014
I have a Snapon toolbox. If I were to buy another tool box I would buy one of the big ones from Harbor freight. They didn't have big ones when I bought my snapon box

zakkb787

<that’s not me...
Sep 29, 2014
Granite Falls NC
I've got the smaller one from hf and thonim not a mechanic by trade I do a lot of work with this box and the quality is impressive for the price. The big ones are extremely nice.

Burn Down

Hotrodder
Sep 14, 2008
Boise Idaho
I bought used boxes... No way was I paying what they wanted for a new one. I just traded up until I ended up with my current box a triple bank Snap On. I see them forsale on Craigslist all the time for pennies compared to what they are new... Or pick up a trade in box like I did.

AZlml

Jun 5, 2016
Goodyear, AZ
I'd look for a used name brand box as well. Harbor freight ones aren't bad either i've known a few people with them in service trucks that lasted a long time. My Mac box got thrashed in my service truck I wish I had a cheaper one at the time but it still works..

PureHybrid

Isuzu Shakes IT
Feb 15, 2012
Central OH
I bought my snap-on brand new, but I got it right out of school for 1/2 of retail. Only way I would've got one.

Couple guys at work have the HF boxes, the wheels are chit and the drawers suck IMO. For decent quality and price, look at Proto. About $2700 for a 54" box last I checked.

Chevy1925

don't know sh!t about IFS
Staff member
Oct 21, 2009
Phoenix Az