The dummy

Steve Beilgard

Aug 30, 2020
I'm new here and will immediately lay claim to being the most ignorant mechanic here. 73 years old and a home builder, but I've always hated grease and greasy hands. Anyway, I bought a new 2003 duramax and loved it for 150,000 miles. So much so that I bought a new 2006 LTZ which now has 280,000 on it, complete with original brakes.
Last week I had a mechanic shop replace the rear U-joint and a oil/filter change. All was fine. Next day the truck was dead. Turn the ignition and no lights, no whistles, no starter, no anything. As a carpenter, I suspect a blown fuse but all fuses look normal. I put on a battery charger and both are full. (new interstates last year). I live on Prince of Wales island in Alaska, and it's 1 1/2 hours to any town and a $600.00 tow fee when needed. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal
Bad connection at batteries cables or ground. Remove the cables and engine grounds, clean up everything and reinstall. May need to load test the batteries too

Reactions: Steve Beilgard

jlawles2

Jan 28, 2010
Danbury, TX
Did you check the main fuse in the block? You probably have to pull the fender brace out, then lift both the service cover and then the big clunky cover over the fuse block to get down to the mains. Since this is also where the main input from the batteries come into the clock, check for power here.

Dozerboy

Jun 23, 2009
TX of course
I had batteries die in 2 vehicle last week. In both they tested ok and had 12v, but wouldn’t start the vehicle. Wasted a bunch of time looking for a problem, but they worked fine after new batterie. It has been 100* here though too.

Reactions: Steve Beilgard

Steve Beilgard

Aug 30, 2020