Newbie rescues an LB7

Delta.Speed

Mar 26, 2022
Hello all!

I put together my intro post and now hopping right into the action.

My truck is an 02 2500HD CC LB 4x4 that I recently acquired in poor mechanical condition for dirt cheap.

Ive dived right in to address the first set of issues.

My biggest concern with the truck is some tapping that could be heard coming from the intake box. The truck runs fine and has no engine codes other than a code for a deleted IAH that hasn't been tuned out.

Since I'm new to diesels, I took it to a professional diesel shop for a diag and their thoughts on the sound. They threw some likely culprits my way but said they couldn't be sure without some tear down.

According to them, I am most likely looking for either a bent valve or pushrod, a lifted injector cup, or improperly set valve lash.

So I've started tear down on the truck to look for the source of the tapping. I've already found some pretty questionable practices on it, like a siliconed coolant pipe, very sloppy wiring work for the aftermarket headlights, and some underbody lights that are taped to the ebrake cable....smh...

Im going to be focusing strictly on the engine first though.

I'm working with LDS and Calibrated Power mostly for my parts and tuning needs.

So far, I've purchased 45% SAC injectors from LDS to replace while I'm in there, and I purchased a switch on the fly tune from Calibrated Power.

I've got a pretty solid parts list put together for stuff that I intend to replace while I'm in there taking the heads off to go to a machine shop.

I'll post the parts list on a post here so I can get some of y'all thoughts on it.
9f6be53fc08a1faf1e4239f9dc2f7922.jpg

Sent from my SM-S908U1 using Tapatalk

Delta.Speed

Mar 26, 2022
Here's my current parts list from LDS diesel. I'm waiting to pin point the issue before putting the order in. As I mentioned above I already have the 45 SAC injectors, and the tune to make all this work is also on the way.