Lb7 rail pressure issues

Jan 28, 2015
Ohio
I picked up an 02 lb7. Truck has a slight lope at idle. Mostly when cold then comes and goes. When accelerating im about 10k below the desired fuel rail pressure but the trucks not throwing a code. I have an airdog 165gph but its not installed yet. Wonding if the fpr can cause this and why it is not throwing a code for low rail pressure. I did notice the 2 lines coming off the filter head to the ficm are cracked. Ill be replacing them as well as a new factory filter and rebuilding the filter head. Not sure if the fpr is bad or i have a weak pump or a mixture. Any help is appreciated. Im new to the lb7s but not duramaxs.

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal
Yes to all of the above. You may also have injectors or CP3 with high return rates that drag the pressure down

Jan 28, 2015
Ohio
Injectors are not that old but i will look into it after swapping the rubber hoses, filter and fpr. Then will add ligt pump after that regardless. Was just curious why im not getting a cel for rail. Also wasn't sure about the regulator. I know they will cause a lope but wasnt sure about the rest.

clrussell

pro-procrastinator
Sep 23, 2013
Early lb7 won’t throw a low rail code. It might throw a large fuel leak code or something like that. But I’ve seen them like 16k down on rail and it just keeps going with no light.

Try an fpr but I bet it ends up needing a pump, I’ve seen this scenario a lot on 01-02 trucks. Especially with freshish injectors. Most trucks the owners never know due to no light, it just lacks power.

THEFERMANATOR

LEGALLY INSANE
Feb 16, 2009
ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
01 would throw rail pressure codes for no reason, GM changed it for late 01/02 so they don't throw codes easily. Mine was dropping to 12K when desired was over 25K, and still wasn't coding. If the cp3 has 150-200K miles, I wouldn't waste time replacing the regulator, just do the cp3.

2004LB7

Dec 15, 2010
Norcal