Head resurfacing yay or nay?

Delta.Speed

Mar 26, 2022
So as the tittle implies I'm looking to get some thoughts, opinions, and above all experiences with head resurfacing.

I'm pulling the heads on my LB7 and I'm planning on taking them to a reputable machine shop I've worked with before to have a valve job done, and to have them inspected for cracks, warping, etc.

I spoke to a diesel shop in my area and they told me that Duramax heads cannot be resurfaced or they'll crack.

Now I'm new to diesels but from working on gas engines for a long time that doesn't make much sense to me.... I've ALWAYS had heads resurfaced when I've had them pulled due to head gasket failures or any other head issue, to me it guarantees that I'll have a perfect fresh new surface for the head gaskets to mate to and it'll correct any slight imperfections on the head surface due to normal flex of the head casting over years of heating and cooling.

If Duramax heads cannot be resurfaced, are they just supposed to be slapped back on with the old nasty mating surface, or does this imply they are single use heads that everytime they come off they need to be replaced?

The shop said they would absolutely NOT give a quote for a head gasket replacement that doesn't include a new pair of heads at $3k+ for the pair.

Does their claim hold water?

Sent from my SM-S908U1 using Tapatalk

gmduramax

Shits broke
Jun 12, 2008
Nor cal
You can shave a little off of them, if you go to much I believe you run into issues with the Y bridge figment.

Delta.Speed

Mar 26, 2022
You can shave a little off of them, if you go to much I believe you run into issues with the Y bridge figment.
Aren't grade C head gaskets meant to account for the thickness lost when resurfacing? I believe I was told they are like .05 thicker or something like that.

gmduramax

Shits broke
Jun 12, 2008
Nor cal