Engine Swap question

countrycorey

Trust Me I'm an Engineer
Jan 30, 2010
LA
My wife's 02 Yukon is getting a little tired and I'm starting to look for a replacement engine. Any suggestions as id like have a replacement ready to go when this one does go?

Also, I ran across an LS2 & 4 speed auto out of a trailblazer ss. How would that work?

Thanks in advance

Corey

Hot COCOAL

May the farce be with you
Jun 9, 2012
Ls2 would be SWEET!
:woott:

Anything will be SWEET with the proper application of parts and attention, your opportunities are limitless in the platform you're delving into Corey!

The LS2 is the obvious choice for a lighter "entry level" block that offers significant displacement, although I wouldn't stroke it...

There will probably be some swapping necessary, like reluctor wheels, knock position sensors and some pins that need to be moved...etc

Your best bet is to find out what reluctor wheel your Yukon has and find a donor match
Most the LS2's had the 24x reluctor wheel, which is what I believe the LQ4 and the LY6 had...

Trans wise, you can bolt almost ANYTHING to an LS2 or any LS variant

What's in there now, an LQ4/4L65?

Whatever you do, make the swap worth while and use better than the factory castings that what comes for heads on the LQ4...

I've got an LS2 bare block :D
And a 4L70...

Some ported 243's with stainless oversized valves and a mild cam on a 366ci LS2 with full long tubes is a potent little engine combo... Good for 450 to the wheels and 12-14mpg
Lol

countrycorey

Trust Me I'm an Engineer
Jan 30, 2010
LA
I haven't done much LS research due to having only a Duramax for the last several years. I'd like to not have to change anything other than the engine (would like to keep stock driveshafts) and the trans if necessary. I'm open to suggestions guys.

Given Info
2002 Yukon 4WD
5.3L
4L60E
3.73 gears

Info Needed
Reluctor wheel tooth count
Can 4L60 be "built" strong enough to handle a mild LS2 <450hp