CP4 pump warranty wuestion

shenysz71

Apr 17, 2019
I have 2 questions:

1st. I have a 2016 chevy 2500 that is all stock nothing removed. I use as a daily driver and pulling my fifth wheel camper. It just turned 30,000 miles. My powertrain warranty expires on 9-22-2021 would you do a CP4 to Cp3 change while it is still under warranty?just as a preventative measure. And would it void my factory warranty if I did the change over?
2nd question:
I thought I read somewhere that some trucks have a updated Cp4.2 pump that was a upgrade. Is this true and if so how do you know if you have the upgrade.
Thank you for the help.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Last edited:

FC5452

Mar 17, 2013
Eastern PA
As far a question #2 there is no such thing s an upgraded pump in the 2011-16 series trucks. The cp4.2 is what these trucks have always had. The .2 is the reference of a 2 piston pump. Folks have been calling the pumps a cp4, which by trade it is, but is used as slang for the cp4.2. A Cp4 is a single piston pump which is used in the Volkswagen diesels.

As far as the first question, if your worried about warranty, leave it be, or just swap to the cp3 and travel on. Certain dealers don’t care about t others will flag you. But conversion will not void a warranty say if the radiator springs a leak, one would be hard pressed to prove the cp3 caused the leak.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

KyleC4

Tech
Dec 30, 2016
Bay Area
Most dealers I know would not warranty any fuel injection related concern you’d have if you did do the CP4 to CP3 conversion. But also know this, your injection pump also falls under your diesel emissions coverage warranty. And I believe that covers certain components (ex;cp4) for a period of 8yr and 80k or 100k I can’t recall. Just call your local dealer and have them run the IVH through global connect and they can tell you all your remaining coverages and expirations.