LB7: check engine light

country junkie

Feb 15, 2020
Im new to diesels. I just bought my first a few days ago. It is a 2003 crew cab long bed 4x4. Yesterday i changed engine oil and filter, and also changed the oil and filter on the trans, everything looked good and went good. When i started it eveything sounded and looked good except the check engine light came on. i let it idle and warm up and checked the tranny fluid level it was good. shut it off and checked the engine oil level it was fine. so i started it back up and the check engine light was still on. Any ideas/

DAVe3283

Heavy & Slow
Sep 3, 2009
Boise, ID, USA
You're going to need to get the codes read. These trucks are advanced enough there's no point guessing what might have it unhappy. Most auto parts stores will read codes for free.

Post back what code(s) are set, and we can help you out.

country junkie

Feb 15, 2020
The codes they pulled today were p0087 and u1000. Cleared them both out and check engine light came back on. I haven't been back to see what popped again.

ZeroGravity58

Mar 23, 2008
Maryland
P0087 is a low fuel pressure code. If you don't have a lift pump try changing out the fuel filter. It could be plugging up. The U1000 is a class 2 communication code. Maybe a dirty/bad ground somewhere

DAVe3283

Heavy & Slow
Sep 3, 2009
Boise, ID, USA
Did the code come back on immediately, or once you started driving?
You're going to want to find someone with a scan tool and watch the Commanded FRP and Actual FRP values. It could be a plugged filter, or a weak CP3, or failing injectors, or a bad FRP sensor.

country junkie

Feb 15, 2020
I've had it cleared 3 times. It came on immediately all three times.