2009 LMM won't rev over 2k rpms.

JayPrimo

Feb 8, 2020
Hey guys, brand new here but not to forums. Searched high and low, all I find in relation to this is clear fuel pressure issues with codes to match. I don't have those problems, and I'm at my wits end, spinning in circles for 2 weeks now. I'll try to keep it as short as possible, any details you may need and I left out I'll gladly fill in. I'm a fleet mechanic with 100's of GMC/Chevy Duramaxs from 2009-2019, so reference material is not an issue, and we're all stumped.

Got a 2009 GMC 2500 Duramax won't rev over 2k. I'm familiar with fueling issues, and this feels and sounds exactly like a limiter on a gas engine feels like, 2k rpms on the button. Other mechanic said he had it last month, only did it during regen and then it was fine. He replaced cmp sensor and ckp sensor and did an egr job also.

Now it does it all the time, park, neutral, drive, don't matter. No codes. Will throw a ckp code if you lay into this limiter but that's it. Everything on Tech2 checked out except 2 things. #2 balance rate was wonky, and my desired fuel pressure will not go over 13k on it's own. I can command it no problem, but will just dead end at 13k when it hits this limiter at 2k rpm.