Duramax Diesels Forum Truck of the Week
  #1  
Old 01-25-2019, 07:54 PM
06DDLBZ 06DDLBZ is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 24
Default Attempting to program TCM with Tech2. Calibrations out of date

Hello

I apologize if this is in the wrong section.

I am attempting to program and new TCM off rock auto on my 06 LBZ. I ordered a tech2 clone and cracked it. When trying to program the TCM I get this error message

ďE2906: calibrations marked with an asterisk are not recognized by this tis2000 release. They are either new than what is available on this TIS2000 release or they are non GM calibrations.Ē

The current calibration says *24256865 in the right upper box in the SPS window.


The options I am given are: 15832780 and 15938639 both has red circles and I cannot click in them. Below them are 25809621 and 25774904. When I check either of these boxes and click next thatís when I get the error message.


The only thing I can think is that I need go ahead and get GlobalTIS because I need calibration files that are up to date?

I sure thought with it being a 2006 that tis2000 would have worked.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2019, 06:35 AM
TheBac's Avatar
TheBac TheBac is offline
Why do I keep doing this?


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 12,143

Default

Moved over to Tuning section. Im not sure Mike is really into the tuning side of things.
__________________
Tom
"BBT" -- 2003 GMC CC/SB 4x4 12.14@111.15
"The Cruzer" -- 2014 Chevy Cruze Diesel -- the DD
"Kleshay" -- 2000 C5 Corvette -- the toy

Marlene (Molly) Bacon -- 1936 - 2019 -- RIP Mom You're already missed, at home and on the piano.

Two wrongs dont make a right, but three rights do make a left.
Reality is a matter of perspective.
This forum isn't for the weak of heart.....or wallet.
"Lets build a race car they said. Itll be fun they said. I don't know who "they" are.........but they need a good punch in the face!" -- mufflerguy (yb)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2019, 08:03 AM
DAVe3283's Avatar
DAVe3283 DAVe3283 is offline
Heavy & Slow



 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boise, ID, USA
Posts: 2,957

Default

It sounds like your cracked version of TIS2000 has problems. You can download and try a copy from a different location, or you can use the real TIS2Web in passthrough mode. It's $40 per VIN to flash any/all modules for 2 years.

I have a clone Tech 2, and it seems to work fine with TIS2Web.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2019, 10:09 AM
rcr1978's Avatar
rcr1978 rcr1978 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Spring Creek, NV
Posts: 628
Default

I'm pretty sure any newer A46, T14A TCM has to be done with TIS pass through on the Tech2 since all the old cals are for the A40 witch will leave you with a dead TCM.
__________________
04 LB7 ECSB Built motor, Wagler billet narrowed Rods, Callies billet narrowed journal crank, Mahle Race Cast pistons, Randy's Girdle, Wagler/Callies Stage 1 alterfire cam, Exergy 100% SAC's, dual CP3's, Randy's race ported heads, Profab cast flow/up pipes, and S475 over a DTS 67.7
2010 LMM CCLB-Tuning/Exhaust
2015 LML Cab and chassis- Tuning/Exhaust
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2019, 10:34 AM
2004LB7's Avatar
2004LB7 2004LB7 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 1,571

Default

From this thread: https://forum.efilive.com/showthread...-T14-confusion

(Rcr you may have seen this one before as you are part of that thread)

"A41 is not for GM pickups or MD trucks, forget it.

T14A (GM serv #24256864 on sticker, part #24256671 and T14A on the case) is Delco branded version of Allison A46 (part # 29546675 and ATA4601 on case). they are the same hardware.

T14 (GM serv #24256861 on sticker, part #24256670 and T14 on case) is Delco version of Allison A50 (serv #25978353, part #29545535).

T14 is to A50 what T14A is to A40 -- sort of. there are some differences that are part of the boot level. SPS does not write to that, it only writes the OS and trans cal segments.

when you flash an 06-08 GM pickup with SPS you must select the TCM type (list of part/service #s that just determine if it's T14A/A46 HW or A40). the cal segment for 08 will be the same 24257976. the OS will be different 29541751 (A40), 24256580 (A46). cross flashing will brick. you will find similar pattern when selecting A50 vs T14 for 09-10 pickup -- same trans cal, different OS.

you cannot SPS an A50 selection into a T14, it will brick. generally you cannot flash a file you read out of an A50 with EFIlive into a T14, it will brick. just as flashing A40 OS and cal into an A46 will brick. in some cases i can recover them.

for some strange reason for 2011+ GM pickups the same GM flash works in A50 and T14 (at least that used to be case, they may have made some "improvements"). i haven't figured out yet why that is, i don't have any A50s left to test stuff on and generally have no reason to use them.

there are a couple of problems specific to SPS and MD trucks. GM never updated their MD Allison A40 and A50 software for T14A and T14. there IS no MD calibration in SPS for the new controllers. and there is no TCM hardware selection screen. so people install a new T14A in their 08 MD trucks figuring GM says it's a replacement for an A40 and flash it for an 08 MD VIN... brick. SPS a T14 in 09 MD truck... brick.

what's worse, SPS also bricks an A50 when flashing for an 09 MD truck (that's an error with SPS, it's not a problem with the controller). A40s flash OK for 06-08 MD VINs. but as far as EFIlive is concerned, as long as one flashes only what was read out of a TCM with the same HW, there is no problem. there is no fundamental flaw in the T14 or T14A TCMs. the fundamental flaw is GM's support and documentation"

Hope this helps
__________________
2008 Chevrolet 3500HD DRW LTZ
285/75/17 Nitto Dura Grapplers, 4.56 gears, Front and rear ARB lockers, Efi Live tuning by me, Raptor 160 LP, Cognito 4-6 NTB Lift, 4" Exhaust, Built Trans by Mike L.

2006 BRM Jetta TDI. Injectors, turbo, Malone custom tuning on ecm and tcm
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2019, 10:29 PM
rcr1978's Avatar
rcr1978 rcr1978 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Spring Creek, NV
Posts: 628
Default

Yup I've had my go with the T14A's I've been trying to flash a new T14A with SPS using pass through on a Tech2 but AcDelco's server has been a real joke lately it has some issues.
__________________
04 LB7 ECSB Built motor, Wagler billet narrowed Rods, Callies billet narrowed journal crank, Mahle Race Cast pistons, Randy's Girdle, Wagler/Callies Stage 1 alterfire cam, Exergy 100% SAC's, dual CP3's, Randy's race ported heads, Profab cast flow/up pipes, and S475 over a DTS 67.7
2010 LMM CCLB-Tuning/Exhaust
2015 LML Cab and chassis- Tuning/Exhaust
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2019, 07:03 AM
06DDLBZ 06DDLBZ is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks for your responses. I think I am understanding this correctly. My
Only route is to return the TCM to rock auto and find a used a40?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2019, 10:33 PM
rcr1978's Avatar
rcr1978 rcr1978 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Spring Creek, NV
Posts: 628
Default

I tried to flash a new T14A today with a Tech2 using SPS pass through, it said it was 30+ min flash well it made it 15min into it and failed now have another doorstop. Might have to get a MDI to try maybe itís faster this shit is rediculous
__________________
04 LB7 ECSB Built motor, Wagler billet narrowed Rods, Callies billet narrowed journal crank, Mahle Race Cast pistons, Randy's Girdle, Wagler/Callies Stage 1 alterfire cam, Exergy 100% SAC's, dual CP3's, Randy's race ported heads, Profab cast flow/up pipes, and S475 over a DTS 67.7
2010 LMM CCLB-Tuning/Exhaust
2015 LML Cab and chassis- Tuning/Exhaust
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-2019, 05:21 PM
06DDLBZ 06DDLBZ is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 24
Default

I canít find an A40 anywhere. This son of a bitch on eBay sold me an A40 and it was a T14a. He took eight days to ship then send that. Highly frustrated. Truck is just sitting. I guess Iíll call the dealer tommrow and see if they sell the A40.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-2019, 05:22 PM
06DDLBZ 06DDLBZ is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 24
Default

Is it possible for the dealer to program a t14a for an LBZ? Or do I have to find an old A40?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors