Duramax Diesels Forum Truck of the Week
  #1  
Old 06-14-2016, 10:49 AM
c20elephant's Avatar
c20elephant c20elephant is offline
C20ELEPHANT
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,065
Default Vibrations At Idle

My truck is driving me batshit crazy at the start of this summer.

The Merchant Engine Mounts bring to life vibrations/rattles you never knew your truck had. Soooo short of changing my tune 40 times and driving for a day or two summer will be over, or, tearing into the dash and stuffing foam in there to maybe fix it does anyone have a suggested idle speed (or any other suggestions) that have/has been used with some success between the stock LBZ 680RPM and the stock LMM 720 RPM that might help or any other options in the tune that can be changed to help me keep what little sanity I have left in my life..???

Turning up the radio volume is not option neither is removing the resonator or muffler...

__________________
~Mike~
2006 2500HD EXTENDED CAB LONGBED

Last edited by c20elephant; 06-14-2016 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2016, 10:55 AM
WVRigrat05's Avatar
WVRigrat05 WVRigrat05 is offline
Wound for sound
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: French Creek, West Virginia
Posts: 3,030

Default

I had my truck set to idle at 680, and it drove me nuts, went to 720 same shit.
Set it to 710 and perfect.

If you build your motor for a mild build it will idle smooth as silk with MA mounts,
Lol.
__________________
Reger
05' Black Chevy CC/SB LT- Blackout Performance built motor/trans/tuning- Gone

The Blessed Hellride- 08' White GMC Sierra SLT CC/SB,
100k miles. Piston eater.

Wife's ride- 2016 Pearl white Legacy limited 3.6R

Rig ride/new DD-02' Black Eddie Bauer explorer 4.6, -180k, still sporting original trans, outlasted two Duramaxs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2016, 11:16 AM
c20elephant's Avatar
c20elephant c20elephant is offline
C20ELEPHANT
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,065
Default

Stock engine with 60,000 miles, I'll try 710 RPM to start...
__________________
~Mike~
2006 2500HD EXTENDED CAB LONGBED
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2016, 11:39 AM
Harbin_22's Avatar
Harbin_22 Harbin_22 is offline
Turning it back up!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 3,817

Default

Use the DVT tool in the scan tool and adjust the idle around to see if it helps instead of flashing it a bunch of times
__________________
10' CCSB
Carrillos, Fingers 16.5:1 Cast Pistons, 3388AF Cam, PPE Dual CP3's, Exergy 200% inj, Danvile Billet 72R, HSP tripples/2-SXE369's, Limitless Diesel All Billet Comp Trans with LD TC, DHD lock up, Air Dog, Banks, RDL, CalTracs, QA1, M/A, Isspro, Novakanes/420's, 30x14 cheaters
Tuning from Mark@Danville

1,101HP/1727ftlbs
6.56@111 1/8
10.12@138 1/4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2016, 12:06 PM
DAVe3283's Avatar
DAVe3283 DAVe3283 is offline
Heavy & Slow



 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boise, ID, USA
Posts: 2,889

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harbin_22 View Post
Use the DVT tool in the scan tool and adjust the idle around to see if it helps instead of flashing it a bunch of times
This. And don't be afraid to go a hair below 680 as well.

Though I did find a weird condition where setting the idle RPM to 600 caused it to not complete one of the emissions readiness tests due to stupid hard-coded values in the ECU. This was on a LB7 though.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2016, 12:41 PM
c20elephant's Avatar
c20elephant c20elephant is offline
C20ELEPHANT
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harbin_22 View Post
Use the DVT tool in the scan tool and adjust the idle around to see if it helps instead of flashing it a bunch of times
I don't use the laptop/V2 combination very often and have never used the DVT tool, could you give me a quick rundown how to.? I have a stand built for it just never use it. I have an old laptop and I installed Windows 7 on it and keep it for truck use only.
=

=
=
__________________
~Mike~
2006 2500HD EXTENDED CAB LONGBED

Last edited by c20elephant; 06-14-2016 at 01:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2016, 04:20 PM
Harbin_22's Avatar
Harbin_22 Harbin_22 is offline
Turning it back up!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 3,817

Default

Open the scan tool, connect to your vehicle with the little green button icon on the left. Once connected, there are tabs along the top of the screen. Look for the one that says DVT. Click that tab and it will open the DVT tool options. Look for the button towards the upper right of that screen that says activate. Click it. There is another tab on the left side of the screen that says "control". Click it. One option will be idle speed. Check the box next to it and slide the bar back and forth to turn it up or down.
__________________
10' CCSB
Carrillos, Fingers 16.5:1 Cast Pistons, 3388AF Cam, PPE Dual CP3's, Exergy 200% inj, Danvile Billet 72R, HSP tripples/2-SXE369's, Limitless Diesel All Billet Comp Trans with LD TC, DHD lock up, Air Dog, Banks, RDL, CalTracs, QA1, M/A, Isspro, Novakanes/420's, 30x14 cheaters
Tuning from Mark@Danville

1,101HP/1727ftlbs
6.56@111 1/8
10.12@138 1/4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-16-2016, 12:30 PM
c20elephant's Avatar
c20elephant c20elephant is offline
C20ELEPHANT
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harbin_22 View Post
Open the scan tool, connect to your vehicle with the little green button icon on the left. Once connected, there are tabs along the top of the screen. Look for the one that says DVT. Click that tab and it will open the DVT tool options. Look for the button towards the upper right of that screen that says activate. Click it. There is another tab on the left side of the screen that says "control". Click it. One option will be idle speed. Check the box next to it and slide the bar back and forth to turn it up or down.
Next question, can the truck be driven temporarily with the laptop and V2 hooked up till I find what idle works best.?
__________________
~Mike~
2006 2500HD EXTENDED CAB LONGBED
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2016, 06:30 PM
WVRigrat05's Avatar
WVRigrat05 WVRigrat05 is offline
Wound for sound
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: French Creek, West Virginia
Posts: 3,030

Default

Can you do this with a locked autocal efi download?
__________________
Reger
05' Black Chevy CC/SB LT- Blackout Performance built motor/trans/tuning- Gone

The Blessed Hellride- 08' White GMC Sierra SLT CC/SB,
100k miles. Piston eater.

Wife's ride- 2016 Pearl white Legacy limited 3.6R

Rig ride/new DD-02' Black Eddie Bauer explorer 4.6, -180k, still sporting original trans, outlasted two Duramaxs.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-14-2016, 07:00 PM
Harbin_22's Avatar
Harbin_22 Harbin_22 is offline
Turning it back up!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 3,817

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WVRigrat05 View Post
Can you do this with a locked autocal efi download?
Don't have a clue how autocal and logging works. It's in the Scan tool software
__________________
10' CCSB
Carrillos, Fingers 16.5:1 Cast Pistons, 3388AF Cam, PPE Dual CP3's, Exergy 200% inj, Danvile Billet 72R, HSP tripples/2-SXE369's, Limitless Diesel All Billet Comp Trans with LD TC, DHD lock up, Air Dog, Banks, RDL, CalTracs, QA1, M/A, Isspro, Novakanes/420's, 30x14 cheaters
Tuning from Mark@Danville

1,101HP/1727ftlbs
6.56@111 1/8
10.12@138 1/4
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-16-2016, 06:13 PM
c20elephant's Avatar
c20elephant c20elephant is offline
C20ELEPHANT
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WVRigrat05 View Post
Can you do this with a locked autocal efi download?
https://www.efilive.com/product-info-efilive-scan-tool

http://www.duramaxdiesels.com/forum/...t=27243&page=5
__________________
~Mike~
2006 2500HD EXTENDED CAB LONGBED

Last edited by c20elephant; 06-16-2016 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-14-2016, 06:39 PM
TheBac's Avatar
TheBac TheBac is offline
Why do I keep doing this?


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 11,943

Default

Switch to bolted stock mounts if you really need to have the extra holding power in them. Yeah, Im being Capt Obvious.

IMO, 600rpm idle is not a good idea, either.
Boy, did that low an idle rattle the absolute living crap out of my truck when I tried Dave's tune. Went back to my old tuning and no issue.
__________________
Tom
"BBT" -- 2003 GMC CC/SB 4x4 12.14@111.15
"The Cruzer" -- 2014 Chevy Cruze Diesel -- the fun little DD
"Kleshay" -- 2000 C5 Corvette -- the toy
"The Bigger Boat" -- 2011 Workhorse P700 - 6.0LS/Allison - what I drive at work


Two wrongs dont make a right, but three rights do make a left.

Reality is a matter of perspective.

This forum isn't for the weak of heart.....or wallet.

"Lets build a race car they said. Itll be fun they said. I don't know who "they" are.........but they need a good punch in the face!" -- mufflerguy (yb)

Last edited by TheBac; 06-14-2016 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-14-2016, 07:44 PM
c20elephant's Avatar
c20elephant c20elephant is offline
C20ELEPHANT
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBac View Post
Switch to bolted stock mounts if you really need to have the extra holding power in them. Yeah, Im being Capt Obvious.

IMO, 600rpm idle is not a good idea, either.
Boy, did that low an idle rattle the absolute living crap out of my truck when I tried Dave's tune. Went back to my old tuning and no issue.

I installed the Merchant Engine Mounts awhile back to stiffen the front frame section, truck handles much better and the front end donkey dance is much less, Viking shocks maybe someday.....

I will check my problem exhaust system, the front pipe where I have my resonator connection might be hitting the torsion bar cross member, again.... The vibration/noise sounded a lot different this time and changes drastically from summer to winter temperatures (only 2 seasons here, summer/winter) that's why I was considering changing the idle, might be time to break out the rosebud torchhead for the exhaust and change the idle...

Harbin_22, thanks for the simple explanation for the DVT controls...
__________________
~Mike~
2006 2500HD EXTENDED CAB LONGBED

Last edited by c20elephant; 06-15-2016 at 01:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-16-2016, 10:32 AM
THEFERMANATOR's Avatar
THEFERMANATOR THEFERMANATOR is offline
LEGALLY INSANE
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
Posts: 3,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBac View Post
Switch to bolted stock mounts if you really need to have the extra holding power in them. Yeah, Im being Capt Obvious.

IMO, 600rpm idle is not a good idea, either.
Boy, did that low an idle rattle the absolute living crap out of my truck when I tried Dave's tune. Went back to my old tuning and no issue.
600 is the stock idle speed for 01, so why is it bad? GM changed it because of the nasty harmonics you encounter in the 640-650 range. Mine is still at 600, and is fine, but you do notice the harmonics just off idle. As to polymounts, they're going to give you more vibrations at idle, just thenature of the beast. And the ladt thing in the world one would want to do is use the engine block to stiffen the frame. The engine is already under extreme forces justfrom running, let alone if you add more to it. Poly mounts stiffen things up, yes, but it comes at a cost. I'll never run them again.
__________________
1995 GMC 2500 SUBURBAN powered by 01 DURAMAX/ALLISON, little of this, a little of that,
DIAMONDEYE 4" exhaust, CORSA muffler, AFE stage 1 dry filter, custom tuning by me, KENNEDY single pump and pump rub kit.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-16-2016, 11:01 AM
c20elephant's Avatar
c20elephant c20elephant is offline
C20ELEPHANT
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEFERMANATOR View Post
600 is the stock idle speed for 01, so why is it bad? GM changed it because of the nasty harmonics you encounter in the 640-650 range. Mine is still at 600, and is fine, but you do notice the harmonics just off idle. As to polymounts, they're going to give you more vibrations at idle, just thenature of the beast. And the ladt thing in the world one would want to do is use the engine block to stiffen the frame. The engine is already under extreme forces justfrom running, let alone if you add more to it. Poly mounts stiffen things up, yes, but it comes at a cost. I'll never run them again.
I don't do burnouts or abuse the truck like a lot guys, I use it but do not abuse it and the mounts did what I intended them do....
=
=

=
__________________
~Mike~
2006 2500HD EXTENDED CAB LONGBED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors