Duramax Diesels Forum Truck of the Week
  #1  
Old 12-17-2010, 07:14 AM
dirttymaxx's Avatar
dirttymaxx dirttymaxx is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: sharpsburg,ky
Posts: 334
Default Wfo switch for fpr

ok some one told me this a few weeks ago,and then i tryed it on our pulling truck. on our pulling truck were running 45 over sticks,and a stock cp3.
now i dont know if any one has posted this already looked around and didnt see it any where,so im going to post it up!

ok i call this the WFO SWITCH FOR THE FPR
what this switch will do,max out the stock cp3 "wide open"
in other words it will let the stock cp3 push everything it can push.
now i didnt use a moded FPR,but i woudl think that if one did it woudl flow a little more fuel. the fpr works off of the ground,on all trucks so the ecm pulses the ground to acheve the right rail pressure.
when the FPR gets power its open all the time.

this is how its done,
you have two wires coming off the FPR one is yellow and the other is purple/white.

yellow= ground
purple/white= 12v +

step#1
take the yellow wire cut it!! yes i said to cut it!!
step#2
now splice longer leads on both wires,so you can run it in the cab of the truck.
step#3
get you a on/off switch,take both wires and hook it to the on/off switch.
mount the switch where ever you want it. and your done.

step#4
how to use the switch,
when the switch is ON the ecm can control the rail pressure
when the switch is OFF the rail pressure will incress

hope this helps some of you guys running around with bigger sticks,and stock cp3
__________________
04.5 LBZ/LLY dirttymaxx puller
efi live 570 hp 6/11/11 STOCK charger!
down pipe,headers,up pipes,egr removed,locker front and rear,ats tranny,7" bull hauler stacks,custom 3" intercooler tubes,3" intake bridge,lots of polished parts 45% over injectors,head studs,LBZ turbo intake mod,custom 4" air intake with k/n filter,heads ported and polished by ME!,custom solid motor mounts,built cp3 pump from diesel injection

  #2  
Old 12-17-2010, 07:23 AM
madmatt's Avatar
madmatt madmatt is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: "the mecca"
Posts: 1,595
Default

have you watched rail pressure to verified it worked?
  #3  
Old 12-17-2010, 08:02 AM
Chevy1925's Avatar
Chevy1925 Chevy1925 is online now
don't know sh!t about IFS

 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix Az
Posts: 14,530

Default

That doesnt make sense to me, wouldnt it need a full ground for the FPR to go wide open?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirttymaxx View Post
ok some one told me this a few weeks ago,and then i tryed it on our pulling truck. on our pulling truck were running 45 over sticks,and a stock cp3.
now i dont know if any one has posted this already looked around and didnt see it any where,so im going to post it up!

ok i call this the WFO SWITCH FOR THE FPR
what this switch will do,max out the stock cp3 "wide open"
in other words it will let the stock cp3 push everything it can push.
now i didnt use a moded FPR,but i woudl think that if one did it woudl flow a little more fuel. the fpr works off of the ground,on all trucks so the ecm pulses the ground to acheve the right rail pressure.
when the FPR gets power its open all the time.
this is how its done,
you have two wires coming off the FPR one is yellow and the other is purple/white.

yellow= ground
purple/white= 12v +

step#1
take the yellow wire cut it!! yes i said to cut it!!
step#2
now splice 1 longer wire into one of those two wires being sure to reconnect the two wires you cut back together
step#3
get you a on/off switch,take your long wire you just spliced in and hook it to the on/off switch. run another wire from the other pole of the switch to a good ground. mount the switch where ever you want it. and your done .

step#4
how to use the switch,
when the switch is ON the ecm can control the rail pressure
when the switch is OFF the rail pressure will incress

hope this helps some of you guys running around with bigger sticks,and stock cp3
if you only splice a switch into the wire and not run a separate ground wire off the switch (changed in red), it wont do anything assuming we are goin off what you said in the bold above.

EDIT: DISREGARD MY WIRING, IT WRONG LOL
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshH View Post
Mike L is my role model. I want to be like him when I grow up.
James

02 LL7 2500HD CC/LB dmax/alli "The Limo"

BIG THANKS TO: Mike L, Steve, Trent, Guy, Dan, Ruben, Josh H, Scott, Brian and everyone else who has put a hand in to help me.

best time to date: 12.39

motor died/bent rods = 3/11/11
back from the dead 7:04pm 4/9/2012

Limo is back in the garage, now driving a built chevy tracker
Tailgate Crew Member #4

Last edited by Chevy1925; 12-17-2010 at 11:57 AM.
  #4  
Old 12-17-2010, 08:43 AM
madmatt's Avatar
madmatt madmatt is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: "the mecca"
Posts: 1,595
Default

he's basically just creating a short to ground. He's cutting the wire and putting the two cut ends back together with a butt connector or whatever and hes adding a third wire which runs to a switch which when flipped completes the connection to the grounded wire. Make sense now??
  #5  
Old 12-17-2010, 08:44 AM
Operator1's Avatar
Operator1 Operator1 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 476

Default

The OP's method is basically like unplugging the FPR, which is said to force it wide open. I know it works on cummins, but have not tried it on the duramax. I ASSume it would be the same.
__________________
-Chad
  #6  
Old 12-17-2010, 08:52 AM
Chevy1925's Avatar
Chevy1925 Chevy1925 is online now
don't know sh!t about IFS

 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix Az
Posts: 14,530

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmatt View Post
he's basically just creating a short to ground. He's cutting the wire and putting the two cut ends back together with a butt connector or whatever and hes adding a third wire which runs to a switch which when flipped completes the connection to the grounded wire. Make sense now??
thats what i had posted. what dirty said was to only lenghten the wires and put a switch inbetween them like creating an open in the line. that what im gettin from it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Operator1 View Post
The OP's method is basically like unplugging the FPR, which is said to force it wide open. I know it works on cummins, but have not tried it on the duramax. I ASSume it would be the same.
"when the FPR gets power its open all the time." maybe i read this statment wrong. i took "open all the time" as in the valve will be open all the time. Was it ment as the ground is open all the time?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshH View Post
Mike L is my role model. I want to be like him when I grow up.
James

02 LL7 2500HD CC/LB dmax/alli "The Limo"

BIG THANKS TO: Mike L, Steve, Trent, Guy, Dan, Ruben, Josh H, Scott, Brian and everyone else who has put a hand in to help me.

best time to date: 12.39

motor died/bent rods = 3/11/11
back from the dead 7:04pm 4/9/2012

Limo is back in the garage, now driving a built chevy tracker
Tailgate Crew Member #4
  #7  
Old 12-17-2010, 08:58 AM
madmatt's Avatar
madmatt madmatt is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: "the mecca"
Posts: 1,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevy1925 View Post
thats what i had posted. what dirty said was to only lenghten the wires and put a switch inbetween them like creating an open in the line. that what im gettin from it
sorry lol,, i just scrolled up and read your statement and thought you just highlighted what he typed,, my bad
  #8  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:43 AM
JoshH's Avatar
JoshH JoshH is offline
Daggum farm truck
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas!!!
Posts: 12,704

Default

It will go wide open if you cut the ground, but it will more than likely also throw a code that will cause the ECM to default to full rail pressure until it is reset.
__________________
06 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB

06 Express 2500 Duramax Van "The Dumpster"


  #9  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:54 AM
Chevy1925's Avatar
Chevy1925 Chevy1925 is online now
don't know sh!t about IFS

 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix Az
Posts: 14,530

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshH View Post
It will go wide open if you cut the ground, but it will more than likely also throw a code that will cause the ECM to default to full rail pressure until it is reset.
and josh sets me right again
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshH View Post
Mike L is my role model. I want to be like him when I grow up.
James

02 LL7 2500HD CC/LB dmax/alli "The Limo"

BIG THANKS TO: Mike L, Steve, Trent, Guy, Dan, Ruben, Josh H, Scott, Brian and everyone else who has put a hand in to help me.

best time to date: 12.39

motor died/bent rods = 3/11/11
back from the dead 7:04pm 4/9/2012

Limo is back in the garage, now driving a built chevy tracker
Tailgate Crew Member #4
  #10  
Old 12-17-2010, 12:10 PM
Redbowties88's Avatar
Redbowties88 Redbowties88 is offline
Sideways > Straight ;)

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 609 New Jersey
Posts: 1,944

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshH View Post
It will go wide open if you cut the ground, but it will more than likely also throw a code that will cause the ECM to default to full rail pressure until it is reset.
would it hurt anything to drive like that for a shirt period? i.e. the return road?
__________________
Beech - 05 cc/sb
12.31@108.57 stock turbo/fuel 1.63 60'

BigDipper, Eaton, Duramaxtuner, Calvert, EFIlive, Falken
  #11  
Old 12-17-2010, 12:16 PM
JoshH's Avatar
JoshH JoshH is offline
Daggum farm truck
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas!!!
Posts: 12,704

Default

No, but it will not sound good.
__________________
06 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB

06 Express 2500 Duramax Van "The Dumpster"


  #12  
Old 12-17-2010, 12:19 PM
Redbowties88's Avatar
Redbowties88 Redbowties88 is offline
Sideways > Straight ;)

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 609 New Jersey
Posts: 1,944

Default

that i can deal with lol


thanks for the info
__________________
Beech - 05 cc/sb
12.31@108.57 stock turbo/fuel 1.63 60'

BigDipper, Eaton, Duramaxtuner, Calvert, EFIlive, Falken
  #13  
Old 12-17-2010, 12:20 PM
JoshH's Avatar
JoshH JoshH is offline
Daggum farm truck
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas!!!
Posts: 12,704

Default

Just so you know, if your regulator is already going full open, the switch will not do anything for you.
__________________
06 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB

06 Express 2500 Duramax Van "The Dumpster"


  #14  
Old 12-17-2010, 12:24 PM
Redbowties88's Avatar
Redbowties88 Redbowties88 is offline
Sideways > Straight ;)

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 609 New Jersey
Posts: 1,944

Default

i figure it probably wont, but hey it may be worth a try come spring,,, i can always reconnect it anyway
__________________
Beech - 05 cc/sb
12.31@108.57 stock turbo/fuel 1.63 60'

BigDipper, Eaton, Duramaxtuner, Calvert, EFIlive, Falken
  #15  
Old 12-17-2010, 12:52 PM
MMLMM's Avatar
MMLMM MMLMM is offline
Hotrodder

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sin City, Nv.
Posts: 4,076

Default

Sounds scary, running with no regulator...
I took this pic, and thats with the regulator open fully. I think that number is the EFI Live Limits, I think its actually higher considering, I drove like this for a bit for a log, and it never dipped, just stayed constant...

Oh this is with dual fuelers...



Wanna know the fuel temp after driving for 10 minutes....? (it broke 200F)
__________________

2002 LB7 EC/SB
Fleece Cheetah, ARPs, LBZ CP3, Built Allison, AirDog 165, Tap Shifter, EFI Live Custom Tuning By Me, Lowering Shackles,
Original Toyo Proxies on 20" XD Spy's, S&B Intake, MagnaFlow DP & 4", and a few other gadgets and appearance mods
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors