Duramax Diesels Forum Truck of the Week
  #1  
Old 01-13-2020, 02:37 PM
matthew86 matthew86 is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 21
Default WiFi Extender for Shop

I know thereís tech smart people running around this forum, and I am absolutely not one of them. Finally bought a place last summer with a respectable shop and a little property that incidentally came with a house. That aside, I am trying to find a good option to get WiFi into my work area. I have tried two units that ended up going back as they didnít provide any tangible benefit, and one seemed like it had less range than my router. Due to being DSL as I canít get cable where I live, I canít move my modem/router closer according to the installer because he wired up two phone lines or something to that effect so I can only use that one plug. Trying to research extenders on the internet, I feel like all I am getting is marketing wank and the second unit I tried came off of one of the Ďtop performingí something or another and was basically just a box you plug into a wall outlet. Can anyone point me in the right direction who has some experience with such matters? The router/modem unit is on the far side of the house roughly 150í-200í from the shop which is a metal pole barn construction. Standing right outside the shop door, I can pick up 1 WiFi bar. No cell service around the house either, just to make things interesting. Thanks in advance guys.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2006 CCSB LBZ tuned, built trans.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2020, 02:50 PM
coker6365's Avatar
coker6365 coker6365 is offline
Coker6303's ***** Daddy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 432

Default

Sounds like you would be better off running cat5 from your existing router to the shop and either using an extender or an additional router for a 2nd network to go that far.

I personally use a cheap TP-Link AC1750 extender mounted to the shop patio TV about 60ft from the router in the house. Then I use a Cat5 from the extender to run inside the shop to run both Roku 3's to prevent the signal from degrading due to the metal shop structure.

I tried several high dollar node systems and it just flat wouldnt work in the shop. The above mentioned method works great and I run my laptop in the shop using the extender network just fine. 100mbs in the house falls to about 20-25mbs in the shop using the extender through the metal walls. There are better ways, this was just the simplest solution that works very well for me. Running cat5 to the shop would of course be ideal.

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
__________________
2015 Denali CC/SB LML
2006 RC/LB LBZ, SXE472/87/1.0 & FI491/100/1.45, 250% F1 Injectors, Dual 10mm CP3, SoCal Built Engine, JoshH Built Trans, JoshH Tuning. 10.18 @ 140mph, 1487HP 2885TQ Corrected ATS Dyno. 2019 Diesel Power Challenge 1st Place

Big thanks to Josh Harris, Josh Chambers, and my brother Russell Coker for all the help with the LBZ.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2020, 04:09 PM
Trimox Trimox is offline
Gearhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 78
Default

Like Coker said, at that range cable will be cheaper, weather proof and future proof. I would go will Cat6a cable. It will have less cross talk which will allow for less bandwidth drop.
__________________
2004 GMC Sierra CCSB, Built trans, AD 165, 3" down pipe, CTS2 Insight, tunes by Rob
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2020, 04:45 PM
pmason92's Avatar
pmason92 pmason92 is offline
Gearhead
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Madera, CA
Posts: 49
Default

Agreed with Cat6a. I ran it throughout my house. But for wifi extenders, I use the cheap TP link off amazon. Just put one in for my security cameras last week and its running great.
__________________
06 LBZ cc/sb. 376k miles. MA Racing pushrods, MBRP downpipe, Kryptonite steering components, remote coolant bypass filter, PCV reroute, ARP studs, Setrab Transmission cooler, hydraulic hose trans lines and fittings, Limitless diesel trans with Suncoast 1078 converter. Rest all stock, always a work in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2020, 06:38 PM
OregonDMAX's Avatar
OregonDMAX OregonDMAX is offline
NOT IN OREGON
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 3,885

Default

Just ran cat6 from my house some 250 feet to my shop, save yourself the headache of messimg with extenders. After the trencher rental, the cable and PVC to run it in, and I went oversized so I could have room for something else later if need be. I was only in it for a couple hundred bucks.
__________________
Sean
02 CCSB
Moonshine tunes, Mike L trans
Mike L secret sheep converter
Exergy Sportsman, 4/6 drop, LML 20's/420's
supporting mods
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2020, 06:48 PM
Cougar281's Avatar
Cougar281 Cougar281 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 1,398

Default

Burying copper isn't a good idea unless you have REALLY good surge surpressors at both ends. Otherwise, a nearby lightning strike could fry the equipment at both ends. I replaced switch modules at both ends of a buried cat5 run for a customer at least four times due to lightning.

Some sort of directional wireless bridge between the two buildings would be the 'second best' option, IMO. Fiber being the best option.

A pair of these would probably do the trick with regards to getting your network out to the garage: https://mikrotik.com/product/disc_lite5_ac

Sent from my 2PZC5 using Tapatalk
__________________
'04.5 2500HD Silverado LT CC/LB, LBZ D/A Dark Grey
Metallic, 05+ HD Hood & Grille, 192k and counting
Mike L Trans built by ME.
EFILive, PPE Race Valve, KD Twin Lift Pumps & Billet Fuel Pickup, MBRP 4" "Cat-Back" T409 straight piped.

300.59' 3rd place first pull

Best 1/4 times:
Truck: 14.067 @ 96.29, weighing in at over 7200#
446.4RWHP/820.2RWTq
Car (95 Cougar 4.6L V8): 14.680 @ 94.00

"The FIRST weapon is the mind, all others are incidental."
"I'd rather be judged by twelve than carried by six."

Last edited by Cougar281; 01-13-2020 at 07:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2020, 07:04 PM
2004LB7's Avatar
2004LB7 2004LB7 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 2,168

Default

Probably what you want is two or more routers acting as a single access point. That is how large big box stores, Walmart, home Depot, etc do it. Provides coverage throughout the range of all the routers without leaving one network and reconnecting to another

Here is a decent writeup on how to do it: https://support.bluos.net/hc/en-us/a...-network-name-
__________________
2008 Chevrolet 3500HD DRW LTZ
285/75/17 Nitto Dura Grapplers, 4.56 gears, Front and rear ARB lockers, Efi Live tuning by me, Raptor 160 LP, Cognito 4-6 NTB Lift, 4" Exhaust, Built Trans by Mike L.

2006 BRM Jetta TDI. Injectors, turbo, Malone custom tuning on ecm and tcm
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2020, 07:09 PM
Cougar281's Avatar
Cougar281 Cougar281 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 1,398

Default

For that to work, they need to be on the same network, either by wireless bridge or a network cable between the two. He needs to get his network to the garage for that to work.

Sent from my 2PZC5 using Tapatalk
__________________
'04.5 2500HD Silverado LT CC/LB, LBZ D/A Dark Grey
Metallic, 05+ HD Hood & Grille, 192k and counting
Mike L Trans built by ME.
EFILive, PPE Race Valve, KD Twin Lift Pumps & Billet Fuel Pickup, MBRP 4" "Cat-Back" T409 straight piped.

300.59' 3rd place first pull

Best 1/4 times:
Truck: 14.067 @ 96.29, weighing in at over 7200#
446.4RWHP/820.2RWTq
Car (95 Cougar 4.6L V8): 14.680 @ 94.00

"The FIRST weapon is the mind, all others are incidental."
"I'd rather be judged by twelve than carried by six."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2020, 08:15 PM
2004LB7's Avatar
2004LB7 2004LB7 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 2,168

Default

He can use it to get the router closer. It was stated by his installer that they couldn't move it, so this may be an option. Plus with all the talk of running a cat5/6 you might as well thow a router on it.

As another option, have you tried placing a piece of metal behind your router to reflect the signal to your shop?
__________________
2008 Chevrolet 3500HD DRW LTZ
285/75/17 Nitto Dura Grapplers, 4.56 gears, Front and rear ARB lockers, Efi Live tuning by me, Raptor 160 LP, Cognito 4-6 NTB Lift, 4" Exhaust, Built Trans by Mike L.

2006 BRM Jetta TDI. Injectors, turbo, Malone custom tuning on ecm and tcm
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2020, 09:07 PM
snowman22's Avatar
snowman22 snowman22 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SoCal
Posts: 233
Default

Is the shop on the same power drop as the house or does it have it's own drop? If it's the same a power line adapter could work for low to medium bandwidth (Most applications). That would alleviate the need to run a Cat6 cable out there.
__________________
2015.5 LML GMC Denali 3500 SRW 4wd CCLB 100k Miles
Mike L Trans, 4" FlowPro, MBRP Down Pipe, 30" FTE Resonator, S&B Intake, Twin Kennedy Pumps, Bilstein 5100, Kryptonite UCA and Tie Rods, EBC Sport Rotors Orange Pads, Edge CTS2
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-13-2020, 10:46 PM
THEFERMANATOR's Avatar
THEFERMANATOR THEFERMANATOR is offline
LEGALLY INSANE
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
Posts: 3,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowman22 View Post
Is the shop on the same power drop as the house or does it have it's own drop? If it's the same a power line adapter could work for low to medium bandwidth (Most applications). That would alleviate the need to run a Cat6 cable out there.
This is what I was going to say. If you have a power line connected from your house to the shop, they sell one that plugs into a power outlet in the house and the other in your shop, and transmits it that way. They're not the fastest, but can more than handle dsl.
__________________
1995 GMC 2500 SUBURBAN powered by 01 DURAMAX/ALLISON, little of this, a little of that,
DIAMONDEYE 4" exhaust, CORSA muffler, AFE stage 1 dry filter, custom tuning by me, KENNEDY single pump and pump rub kit.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-13-2020, 11:53 PM
matthew86 matthew86 is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 21
Default

Thanks for all the input guys. Please forgive my ignorance here, but does it make any difference I have dsl for running cat5/6/fiber? There is a phone line in the shop, but the installer said I canít use it for internet. The shop is on a separate electrical drop than the house. I do have an old router I could use in the shop for that network. I think I get maybe 15 down and 1ish up at the house. Iíll have to read up on the links provided. You guys are saving me some frustration here trying various extension methods I really know nothing about and I really appreciate it. Once I get some wood projects out of the way, I can get to pulling heads off my old Chevy.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2006 CCSB LBZ tuned, built trans.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-13-2020, 11:58 PM
matthew86 matthew86 is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004LB7 View Post
He can use it to get the router closer. It was stated by his installer that they couldn't move it, so this may be an option. Plus with all the talk of running a cat5/6 you might as well thow a router on it.

As another option, have you tried placing a piece of metal behind your router to reflect the signal to your shop?


I have not tried a metal reflector by the router yet. Iíll have to give it a try while the other half is at work tomorrow.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2006 CCSB LBZ tuned, built trans.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-14-2020, 12:48 AM
2004LB7's Avatar
2004LB7 2004LB7 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 2,168

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthew86 View Post
Thanks for all the input guys. Please forgive my ignorance here, but does it make any difference I have dsl for running cat5/6/fiber? There is a phone line in the shop, but the installer said I can’t use it for internet. The shop is on a separate electrical drop than the house. I do have an old router I could use in the shop for that network. I think I get maybe 15 down and 1ish up at the house. I’ll have to read up on the links provided. You guys are saving me some frustration here trying various extension methods I really know nothing about and I really appreciate it. Once I get some wood projects out of the way, I can get to pulling heads off my old Chevy.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Phone lines normally are run through cat 3 which is three pairs of twisted wires. Cat 5/6 is four pairs of twisted wires and higher standards for twist rate, quality, and shielding providing a clearer signal with better interference rejection.

You could as was done in the 90s use the cat 3 for internet if it is run between your home and shop. It would be limited to about 10 mbps (but may be higher) whereas cat 5 is at least 10 times or more that speed. You would use two pairs of wires leaving one pair free which could be used as a phone line but with possible interference. Worth a try as your internet speed isn't really that high and you wont loose much
__________________
2008 Chevrolet 3500HD DRW LTZ
285/75/17 Nitto Dura Grapplers, 4.56 gears, Front and rear ARB lockers, Efi Live tuning by me, Raptor 160 LP, Cognito 4-6 NTB Lift, 4" Exhaust, Built Trans by Mike L.

2006 BRM Jetta TDI. Injectors, turbo, Malone custom tuning on ecm and tcm
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-14-2020, 01:02 AM
2004LB7's Avatar
2004LB7 2004LB7 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 2,168

Default

Basically like this
__________________
2008 Chevrolet 3500HD DRW LTZ
285/75/17 Nitto Dura Grapplers, 4.56 gears, Front and rear ARB lockers, Efi Live tuning by me, Raptor 160 LP, Cognito 4-6 NTB Lift, 4" Exhaust, Built Trans by Mike L.

2006 BRM Jetta TDI. Injectors, turbo, Malone custom tuning on ecm and tcm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors