Duramax Diesels Forum Truck of the Week
  #1  
Old 08-02-2009, 11:55 AM
Poltergeist's Avatar
Poltergeist Poltergeist is offline
Ghost in the Machine
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Calif.
Posts: 9,840

Default Agreed on Parts list needed for transplants

OK most of you know I am a hot rodder which is why Pat & Kat asked me to help with the site. But I am a Diesel noob. So here is the question:

What is a complete list of everything that is needed to transplant a Duramax and get it running correctly into say: a 69 C10. If we can get a good list I'll make this a sticky.

Obvious is:

1. Motor
2. ECM & wiring harness for motor
3. TCM, Transmission & wiring harness (if wanting to use a modern trans)
4. Reprogramming of the ECM so it will run in an older truck/car/boat
5. intercooler/plumbing
6. Fuel Injected fuel system: Baffled fuel tank, pump and lines
7. Throttle pedal and sensors
8. Motor mounts
9. ??
__________________

Privately owned since August 2006.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2009, 11:57 AM
Vrabel's Avatar
Vrabel Vrabel is offline
TOYAHOLIC
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hewitt, NJ
Posts: 3,433

Default

intercooler/plumbing
__________________
R.I.P.
'01 Silverado 2500HD. Not Quite Stock.
Sheet Metal Workers Local #22
Creatures Of The Night Performance
ProFab Performance
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2009, 11:59 AM
Mike Mike is offline
hmmm....
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 3,112
Default

Plan on a diff transplant, not many stokers will hold up.

Would this have anything to do with a certain Camaro?????
__________________
2004 lb7 2500 cclb 4x4 <- Wrecked / repairing for daughters ride.

2005 LLY 3500 cc 4x4 <- Gone

2007 lmm excb 4x4 dually GMC <- Gone

2015 LML cclb 4x4 dually GMC Tow hog

2015 LML ccsb 4x4 GMC Denali ( wife's ride ) Needs a " this is not my husbands ride " sticker.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:28 PM
Poltergeist's Avatar
Poltergeist Poltergeist is offline
Ghost in the Machine
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Calif.
Posts: 9,840

Default

No I'll do a 427ci LS2 in the Camaro before a diesel. Just easier to do a ci upgrade. But you never know if I'll get a wild hair and do something to some older iron.

** on Edit - I figured that we should get a good solid list of the basics of what is needed for anyone thinking about doing a swap like this.
__________________

Privately owned since August 2006.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:29 PM
Poltergeist's Avatar
Poltergeist Poltergeist is offline
Ghost in the Machine
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Calif.
Posts: 9,840

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vrabel View Post
intercooler/plumbing
Added to the list.
__________________

Privately owned since August 2006.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:32 PM
wikdlmm's Avatar
wikdlmm wikdlmm is offline
<-- OWFA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: san angelo
Posts: 2,031

Default

Fuel lines new diesel tank?
__________________
08 CC/SB 2WD-sold
12.89 at 106mph 1.82 60ft.. Tuned by JOSH H

[B]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:33 PM
maine04max's Avatar
maine04max maine04max is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,010

Default

iirc I heard someone say you will need to use the dash cluster too
__________________
9/26/09 450 rwhp & 869
4/01/10 mild built motor
05/23/10 656rwhp 1190 trq 12.06 @113
07/20/10 Homebuilt 366 /480 twins
10/23/10 11.74 @121 soft launch
9/11/11 11.39 @120
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:40 PM
Vrabel's Avatar
Vrabel Vrabel is offline
TOYAHOLIC
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hewitt, NJ
Posts: 3,433

Default

Big block w/ac front springs, to hold all that wieght.
__________________
R.I.P.
'01 Silverado 2500HD. Not Quite Stock.
Sheet Metal Workers Local #22
Creatures Of The Night Performance
ProFab Performance
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:40 PM
Poltergeist's Avatar
Poltergeist Poltergeist is offline
Ghost in the Machine
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Calif.
Posts: 9,840

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wikdlmm View Post
Fuel lines new diesel tank?
Added

Quote:
Originally Posted by maine04max View Post
iirc I heard someone say you will need to use the dash cluster too
Need confirmation on this. In the LSx world you do not need the cluster, so is this true in the diesel world?
__________________

Privately owned since August 2006.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:41 PM
Kat's Avatar
Kat Kat is offline
Wicked Witch of the West

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Norco, CA
Posts: 20,063

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poltergeist View Post
Need confirmation on this. In the LSx world you do not need the cluster, so is this true in the diesel world?
I know that even changing Casper from LLY to LBZ we had change the cluster. Had to also change LLY throttle pedal to LBZ.
__________________
Blue Meanie 02 Z06 11.36 @ 120.67 448 rwhp/411 tq AFR H/C

Wendy 06 GMC LBZ CC/SB EFI "Rat Posion", Sun Coast trans, SC 1057 & Transgo JR by MikeL, true downpipe, Banks Ram-Air SD sleeves 12.50 @ 107.51


Big Blue04 GMC LLY 3500 SRW CC LB 4x4 DA Big Blue 13.12 @ 103.93 466RWHP/928TQ. PPE LLY extreme tune, VA Box, SC III by Inglewood Trans, 4" straight pipe, Super Diesel Tie Rod supports and Manifold, Trippin Pickup, Cognito Braces, FuzzyDice.

McRat's toy-2005 GMC "Casper 2" 2500HD 4wd Xcab SB Mike L. LLY 2 trans, McRat tuning 10.59 @ 128.9


Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:44 PM
wikdlmm's Avatar
wikdlmm wikdlmm is offline
<-- OWFA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: san angelo
Posts: 2,031

Default

O also motor mounts and diff front end?
__________________
08 CC/SB 2WD-sold
12.89 at 106mph 1.82 60ft.. Tuned by JOSH H

[B]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:44 PM
Vrabel's Avatar
Vrabel Vrabel is offline
TOYAHOLIC
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hewitt, NJ
Posts: 3,433

Default

I've seen a couple of swaps. and they all used the cluster. remember that sweet '55 suburban that somebody showed last winter? that swaped in one too.
__________________
R.I.P.
'01 Silverado 2500HD. Not Quite Stock.
Sheet Metal Workers Local #22
Creatures Of The Night Performance
ProFab Performance
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:45 PM
JoshH's Avatar
JoshH JoshH is offline
Daggum farm truck
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas!!!
Posts: 12,704

Default

Isn't the cluster only required if you want to use the factory gauges? Couldn't you use mechanical gauges for everything if you wanted?
__________________
06 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB

06 Express 2500 Duramax Van "The Dumpster"


Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:46 PM
malibu795's Avatar
malibu795 malibu795 is offline
misspeelleerr

 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: in the buckeye state
Posts: 7,384
Default

dmax and BBC iron are with in 100lb each other..
what the dutys weekend cruising or racing?
rear axle..

D60
D80
10.5 14b
1150AAM

really built 9"
__________________
Adam
mispeeling wrods n a thraed nere u
07.5 3500hd RCLB LMM GT4088R, 4.56 gears 225/70/19.5 efi live 478k broke block
99 FL60 8.3 12v 13sp
Quote:
smooth seas never made a skillfull salior
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-02-2009, 12:46 PM
Poltergeist's Avatar
Poltergeist Poltergeist is offline
Ghost in the Machine
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Calif.
Posts: 9,840

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kat View Post
I know that even changing Casper from LLY to LBZ we had change the cluster.
That would probably be so that you have gauges. But in doing old iron would you need to adapt the cluster? With the LT1 in my El Camino I did not need to use an LT1 cluster. LSx swaps that have happened did not need to use an LS cluster. For speedometer I'm going to guess you could use a Cable-X box to use your original speedometer (cable type) or like I did with my El Camino an aftermarket speedometer that can count the pulses from the trans tail piece.

But is the stock cluster needed to run the motor in a swap?
__________________

Privately owned since August 2006.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors