Duramax Diesels Forum

Duramax Diesels Forum (https://www.duramaxdiesels.com/forum/index.php)
-   Turbo Talk (https://www.duramaxdiesels.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   turbo on lly (https://www.duramaxdiesels.com/forum/showthread.php?t=79168)

Deny 03-24-2018 05:32 PM

turbo on lly
 
hi guys can anyone tell me what i can do to get an lly to spool up at lower rpm seems i have to be around 2200 before it gets going. What would you guys recomend with a stock turbo??? Thanks Denis

torqued2dmax 03-24-2018 05:40 PM

What are your mods , miles , torque converter , turbo mouth piece ,tuner ,tire size, cat still in place , please help us help you !

Dozerboy 03-24-2018 05:41 PM

What do you mean by spool? How much boost is it making at 2200rpms?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Deny 03-25-2018 05:33 PM

Yes sorry guys should have given more info. It has up pipes down pipe 5 inch exhaust egr delete, lbz air horn, it has a tune in it but dont know what it is. was bought as a wright off. it has a dsp 5 position switch. After fixing it i then put it on the road,the reason i am asking is that when you get on it of the line it only comes alive at about 20 mph and then goes pretty good. i only get about 23 lbs of boost. I did check for leaks and all is good also checked stock turbo variabelle vane and they seem to fuction fine. The rest of the truck is stock. oh the rail has a race plug in it.

torqued2dmax 03-25-2018 05:58 PM

Do you know if the transmission has been built and if so what converter ?

torqued2dmax 03-25-2018 06:22 PM

Do RPMs seem to come on as quick as they should ? How many miles on eng ? What size tires ? Since the up pipes have been changed are you sure you checked them good for leaks ? Are the EFI switch wires connected and is there a change in performance when the switch is turned ? Do you have a V2 ?

830king 03-25-2018 08:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deny (Post 1097276)
Yes sorry guys should have given more info. It has up pipes down pipe 5 inch exhaust egr delete, lbz air horn, it has a tune in it but dont know what it is. was bought as a wright off. it has a dsp 5 position switch. After fixing it i then put it on the road,the reason i am asking is that when you get on it of the line it only comes alive at about 20 mph and then goes pretty good. i only get about 23 lbs of boost. I did check for leaks and all is good also checked stock turbo variabelle vane and they seem to fuction fine. The rest of the truck is stock. oh the rail has a race plug in it.

How are you reading boost numbers? If your reading it on a edge cts you will never see more than 23psi.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Deny 03-26-2018 07:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by torqued2dmax (Post 1097282)
Do RPMs seem to come on as quick as they should ? How many miles on eng ? What size tires ? Since the up pipes have been changed are you sure you checked them good for leaks ? Are the EFI switch wires connected and is there a change in performance when the switch is turned ? Do you have a V2 ?

rpm might be a bit slow, engine has 160,000,tiers are275 65 17. no leaks on up pipes, efi wiered and working. no v2, only edge cts

Deny 03-26-2018 07:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by torqued2dmax (Post 1097279)
Do you know if the transmission has been built and if so what converter ?

all stock as i said when i hit about 20 then the tires will break lose for a bit

Deny 03-26-2018 07:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 830king (Post 1097297)
How are you reading boost numbers? If your reading it on a edge cts you will never see more than 23psi.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

yes i have been reading of the edge cts

zakkb787 03-26-2018 08:10 PM

23 is what the factory sensor maxes at so you’re most likely making more just need a modded sensor or a mechanical gauge. LLY’s are known to be kinda laggy in stock form. Also depends on your tuning. Careful with that trans. You’ll be replacing it soon.

Dozerboy 03-27-2018 05:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deny (Post 1097405)
all stock as i said when i hit about 20 then the tires will break lose for a bit



If you are breaking the tires lose at 20mph you donít have a lag problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

torqued2dmax 03-27-2018 12:12 PM

And dont forget , low RPM torque is what brakes things ! That is why there are some on this site that are keeping stock bottom ends alive at 700+ HP , because they keep the RPMs up all the time they are on it ! When you get that tranny build get a converter that will address that better ! Good luck and build some RPMs first to save the eng !

Deny 04-03-2018 07:26 PM

torqued2dmax hi could you elaborate on what and how to make more rpm i dont get that thanks

joshd472 04-03-2018 08:28 PM

Imagine trying to break loose a stubborn bolt and you can’t. Grab a long cheater pipe and boom. The bolt is your engine, when you have high boost/tq at low rpm, turbos are essentially cheater pipes for engines.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors