Blown LMM

AZdmax

Sep 6, 2014
Scottsdale, Arizona
Hey Guys,

I'm new to the whole forum thing. I have question about replacing my LMM with a new long block or rebuilding.

Does anyone know of a good mechanic in the phoenix area? I took it to a local shop and they want to install a new GM long block. To be honest I don't have the 14K they want to fix it right now.

Any suggestions on buying a GM long block or remanufactured block?

Thanks in advance from a newbie!

AZdmax

Sep 6, 2014
Scottsdale, Arizona
I was driving down the freeway and it started missing. I pulled off the next off ramp and then it last power and banging loudly.

I towed it to a shop here in town. the tech tried starting it and they said something internally was wrong, but did not tear into it. just said to purchase a long block and install it.

It sounds like metal to metal when starting it.

Chevy1925

don't know sh!t about IFS
Staff member
Oct 21, 2009
Phoenix Az
Copperhead Diesel out in Mesa is your best bet. Sean deals mainly in dmax stuff and is very fair on pricing. Tell him James that owns the Limo dmax sent you, he will take care of you

catman3126

Ehhh?.... You don't say?
Jul 24, 2012
NE Oregon
Too bad its and LMM I think I will have a built short block or long block for sale soon, carrillos, fingers, colt cam all the goodies. and if so desired a ported set of LBZ heads.

TheBac

Why do I keep doing this?
Staff member
Apr 19, 2008
Mid Michigan
You guys do realize the o/p sounds like he's looking for stock shortblock, right?

O/P, you can rebuild what you have for under $5K, depending on how much needs to be done. It sounds like you broke the crank, though.

Chevy1925

Staff member
Oct 21, 2009
Phoenix Az
You guys do realize the o/p sounds like he's looking for stock shortblock, right?

O/P, you can rebuild what you have for under $5K, depending on how much needs to be done. It sounds like you broke the crank, though.