intermittent electrical issue no crank no start

tyler1983

Aug 8, 2016
georgia
hello everyone im new to this forum but not new to the diesel world. i am a diesel mechanic mostly heavy duty. i have 05 duramax 2500hd LLY, the drivetrain is completely stock, no programmer, no cold air intake and no exhaust. i put six inch lift and 35in tires on it a little over a year ago. i have had the truck for almost five years now. the truck has give me little to no problems other then some seals leaking and fuel line leak. the truck has 225k mile on it. about a week and a half ago i was working and needed to move my truck and when i started it and put it in reverse it shifted really hard and would not move and the message center on the dash said service 4wd. i shifted the trans to drive and back to reverse and the truck moved just fine. later that day it started raining so i got in the truck to get out of the rain and i started the truck to turn on the ac and after only a few mins of running the ac quit working, so turned the truck off and then tried to restarted truck and it wont do anything not even click the starter. the check engine came on and so did the abs and brake lights along with the message saying service 4wd. i checked all the fuses,the batteries and anything i could think of. i hooked up a scan tool it said that there was no communication with the TCM and ABS modules. never could get the truck started that day. next day i went to go load the truck on a trailer and it started up just fine but all the lights where still on on the dash so i decide to drive it home and it was in limp mode and would no shift out of second gear. got it all the way and shut it off and it would start right back up and slowly but surely everything in the truck started working again. drove the truck for a week til this morning and it would not start and all the lights where back on on the dash. the only common occurrence between the two times is rain, it poured down yesterday but i did drive