Duramax Diesels Forum Truck of the Week
  #1  
Old 01-10-2018, 07:10 PM
onebaddmaxxx onebaddmaxxx is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Harco, Md
Posts: 1,157
Default Lly no data recieved

Reminded tonight as to why I lbz swapped my last lly because I canít stand the tuning problems associated with them. So before I even attempted to flash another lly I bought, I pulled the radio fuse and then licensed and attempted to flash it. Failed half way through no data received. Unhooked everything, shut key off; restarted computer, etc talked to mark he said also pull info fuse. Did that as well with no luck. Unplugged ecm and let it sit. Plugged back in, tried again same thing no data received. Tried 7.5 and v8. So Iv also pulled about every fuse one by one and attempting flash every time with the same results. I know some guys have had some big issues in the past flashing lly. What are somethings you may have found that help get the tune in that weíre obvious issues?

Gonna bench flash it in the morning, but damn if this isnít gonna be annoying trying to dial in the truck
__________________
2005 lly

Lots of thanks to Diesels Unlimited, Evan@limitless & Mark@danville
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2018, 07:30 PM
duramaxnate's Avatar
duramaxnate duramaxnate is offline
That guy......
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norco, CA
Posts: 375

Default

What I do for ALL LLYs is try ALT KEYS and ASSUME LOCK MAY BE FAULTY when using v8. That seems to do the trick for me...
__________________
SOCAL DIESEL TRUCKS
WWW.SOCALDIESELTRUCKS.COM
MCFOO RACING
WWW.MCFOORACING.COM

-"Casper" 2005 GMC LBZ ECSB
Best Time: 10.59 @ 128 (Kat Driving)

-"Betty" 2006 GMC LBZ CCSB
Best Time: 12.70 @ 104


-"Bender" 1978 Chevy C30 4x4
454/TH400 Currently
Soon...Kodiak LBZ / Ally 2000 5 speed.
and a bunch of different things to come...
"My Glamis cruiser"

-"Mobile Marriott" 2006 Fleetwood Gearbox 300fs
McFoo Racing mobile command center

-"Spooky" 2002 Ford Explorer XLT/SE (Sucks Edition) Daily Driver. New Trans thanks to Mike L.


Thanks to all that helped me
- The McRats
- Mike L @ Inglewood Transmission
- And many others


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2018, 10:30 PM
rfletes79's Avatar
rfletes79 rfletes79 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Galt, Ca 95632
Posts: 348
Default

I always pull the info and radio fuse, then hold my breath that it doesn’t have an issue. The last LLY that did this I was able to recover but had to send in the ECM.

LMK if you end up needing help.
__________________
j

1970 Chevelle Duramax Hot Rod, '04 LB7/TH400-gear vendor, S475/factory IHI, 65% inj, 10 mil pump, SoCal AF cam, Valve springs, Push Rods, LBZ rods..... 10 sec cruzer :-)

2002 2500HD LLY swap 5-24-15.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2018, 02:56 AM
1FastBrick 1FastBrick is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Junkyard
Posts: 144
Default

LLY ECM and TCM seem to be hit and miss.
Mine flashes with no issue on the ECM and TCM through the OBD port.

A friend of mine will flash the ECM but not the TCM. I have pulled several fuses with no luck. The TCM has to be bench flashed for whatever reason on that truck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:02 AM
onebaddmaxxx onebaddmaxxx is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Harco, Md
Posts: 1,157
Default

It bench flashed fine this morning. Gonna try with a few more fuses out and see if I can get it figured out.
__________________
2005 lly

Lots of thanks to Diesels Unlimited, Evan@limitless & Mark@danville
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2018, 03:16 PM
Dallas S Dallas S is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 410
Default

command start or aftermarket radio?
__________________
2006 SLT cc/sb LBZ/Allison/np273c D60 SAS 40x15.5r22

2006 LT RC/SB LBZ 4x4

1980 k1500 lq4/4l80/np205 39.5's on a d44
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2018, 11:19 PM
THEFERMANATOR's Avatar
THEFERMANATOR THEFERMANATOR is offline
LEGALLY INSANE
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
Posts: 3,545
Default

If it has an aftermarket radio I've found I have to pull the radio and unplug the radio adapter. I have yet to jave pulling the fuses work, but no problems after I unplug the radio adapter.
__________________
1995 GMC 2500 SUBURBAN powered by 01 DURAMAX/ALLISON, little of this, a little of that,
DIAMONDEYE 4" exhaust, CORSA muffler, AFE stage 1 dry filter, custom tuning by me, KENNEDY single pump and pump rub kit.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-2018, 12:03 AM
Dallas S Dallas S is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEFERMANATOR View Post
If it has an aftermarket radio I've found I have to pull the radio and unplug the radio adapter. I have yet to jave pulling the fuses work, but no problems after I unplug the radio adapter.
Agree. Radio interface and command starts are always my issue. Unplug and flash good.
__________________
2006 SLT cc/sb LBZ/Allison/np273c D60 SAS 40x15.5r22

2006 LT RC/SB LBZ 4x4

1980 k1500 lq4/4l80/np205 39.5's on a d44
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-2018, 06:03 AM
clrussell's Avatar
clrussell clrussell is offline
pro-procrastinator
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4,917
Default

Or pop the buss bar out and connect pin 2&4 (I think) then the ecm is the only module on the data line and it'll flash.. I have to do this on lb7 trucks regularly
__________________
17 GMC all terrain L5P, stock with dark windows

07 crew long classic- stolen
.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors