Duramax Diesels Forum Truck of the Week
  #1  
Old 06-13-2012, 07:29 AM
diesel53's Avatar
diesel53 diesel53 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 903

Default DSP5 working correctly?

DSP install went okay I thought, pins went in the first connector (46 & 54 respectively per instructions). Wires went in well and the connector clip slid in perfectly.

When I started the truck it died, and when I tried it again it idled and ran fine. Brake lights went off though.

I am not sure my dsp is functioning though, and I havent had enough time to test drive yet and find out. Kind of nervous to though because It seems like it is stuck in the race tune? If the dsp does not function does it stay on the level five program? Both my first and fifth tunes smoke tons so I am assuming I am stick in a race tune.

If this sounds familiar someone chime in please. Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2012, 08:32 AM
SIKDMAX's Avatar
SIKDMAX SIKDMAX is offline
Highway Burnouts!
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central Coast, Cali
Posts: 5,221

Default

No DSP5 switch defaults to the biggest tune.
__________________
Matt...2008 Chevy DMax CCSB 4x4 LTZ LMM
Carillos, Mahles, ARP 625s, SoCal Cam, Stage 1 Heads, 60% sticks, PPE Dual CP3, HTT 66SS/GT4718R Stainless Steel Twins, PPE High Flow Intake Manifold, Up Pipes and Headers. 6" MBRP single stack. Mike L. Suncoast 4 w/ 1057
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2012, 08:38 AM
diesel53's Avatar
diesel53 diesel53 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 903

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SIKDMAX View Post
No DSP5 switch defaults to the biggest tune.
Thanks, so If I did miss the 46th or 54th pin somehow that would mean I am just stuck in my first tune? Which runs great so far so its hard to tell haha
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2012, 08:59 AM
00f3fiddy's Avatar
00f3fiddy 00f3fiddy is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 136
Default

did you get a preloaded ecm or did you load the tunes?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2012, 09:04 AM
Harbin_22's Avatar
Harbin_22 Harbin_22 is offline
Turning it back up!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 3,811

Default

If the biggest tune was wrote over the base tune and the smallest tune was dsp4 them yes it will default to the base tune which might or might not be the race tune
__________________
10' CCSB
Carrillos, Fingers 16.5:1 Cast Pistons, 3388AF Cam, PPE Dual CP3's, Exergy 200% inj, Danvile Billet 72R, HSP tripples/2-SXE369's, Limitless Diesel All Billet Comp Trans with LD TC, DHD lock up, Air Dog, Banks, RDL, CalTracs, QA1, M/A, Isspro, Novakanes/420's, 30x14 cheaters
Tuning from Mark@Danville

1,101HP/1727ftlbs
6.56@111 1/8
10.12@138 1/4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2012, 09:51 AM
diesel53's Avatar
diesel53 diesel53 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 903

Default

No this was a preloaded ECM from Ridgerunner performance (moonshine). Ill talk with Tony later, this is no doubt a mess up on my part, just not sure what yet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2012, 02:06 PM
x MadMAX DIESEL's Avatar
x MadMAX DIESEL x MadMAX DIESEL is offline
<<<< No Horsepower

 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 7,496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SIKDMAX View Post
No DSP5 switch defaults to the biggest tune.
about half the tuners out there make there base tune the big tune... Which would put you in the big tune if your dsp wasn't working. You can always log dsp voltage and dsp tune number to be totally sure. But what I do if I'm wondering on someone elses truck first thing to try is to brake boost it in gear and change the dsp. You can usually feel the difference, or keep an eye on the gauges watch boost, rpm, or fuel pressure. One or more will change.
__________________
Ben
LBZ Stock Charger
12.26@108.8
7.78@87.7


2.5 puller in the Mecca!!

Manual Mafia

Quote:
Originally Posted by BgBlDodge View Post
Al gore invented driving the turbo.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2012, 03:22 PM
SIKDMAX's Avatar
SIKDMAX SIKDMAX is offline
Highway Burnouts!
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central Coast, Cali
Posts: 5,221

Default

Um... you said the same thing I did. If there is no DSP switch present, the tune will default to the "race" or biggest tune.

Thats how Tony tunes anyway (or tuned my truck).
__________________
Matt...2008 Chevy DMax CCSB 4x4 LTZ LMM
Carillos, Mahles, ARP 625s, SoCal Cam, Stage 1 Heads, 60% sticks, PPE Dual CP3, HTT 66SS/GT4718R Stainless Steel Twins, PPE High Flow Intake Manifold, Up Pipes and Headers. 6" MBRP single stack. Mike L. Suncoast 4 w/ 1057
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2012, 03:28 PM
x MadMAX DIESEL's Avatar
x MadMAX DIESEL x MadMAX DIESEL is offline
<<<< No Horsepower

 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 7,496

Default

There wasn't a comma after "no". It read like you were saying that not any switch will default to a big tune. Sorry I misunderstood.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
__________________
Ben
LBZ Stock Charger
12.26@108.8
7.78@87.7


2.5 puller in the Mecca!!

Manual Mafia

Quote:
Originally Posted by BgBlDodge View Post
Al gore invented driving the turbo.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2012, 04:57 PM
GMC_2002_Dmax's Avatar
GMC_2002_Dmax GMC_2002_Dmax is offline
The Still Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,652

Default

I build them so the Biggest Tune requested is the Base Tune......smallest is always DSP4 and I use Socal Diesel switches so the tunes are always smallest at 10 'o-clock and biggest at 2 'o-clock
__________________
2016 Denali LML----> 2012 Denali LML SOLD

2007 GMC "Classic", LBZ, SLE1 ,RC/LB, 4x4
~Powered By "MOONSHINE"

12.525 at 107.07


2002-GMC Sierra 2500HD SLE/CC/SB/4X4~Powered By "MOONSHINE"
12.65 fuel only, 12.00 on some N20
Retired 04/18/2009...................SOLD 01/2014


Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-14-2012, 07:57 AM
diesel53's Avatar
diesel53 diesel53 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 903

Default

Okay, finally got it working even after I lost the clip in the connector. So far so good!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors