Duramax Diesels Forum Truck of the Week
  #1  
Old 05-04-2017, 11:34 AM
RickDLance's Avatar
RickDLance RickDLance is offline
Vendor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,007
Default Tune issues

I'm trying to do some minor changes on my tune in my Duramax powered suburban. It has been several years since I have played with EFI Live.

I was using an old 7.5 version and the software told me I had to update. I did that this morning and got the tune from my ecm. When I went to edit it a screen popped up telling me I have to use 7.5 to edit it. So saved it and tried to open the file in 7.5. It will not see the file.

Version 8 saved it as a *.ctz and version 7.5 is looking for an *.tun file. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
__________________
www.ProFabperformance.com

If it doesn't say Made in USA then look the other way!!

We also handle S & B filters and Air Dog lift pumps.

On my 19th Duramax & still Loving them!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2017, 12:02 PM
SSchmi5519's Avatar
SSchmi5519 SSchmi5519 is offline
Pro Tuner Wannabe


 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,300

Default

You need to update both your V8 software AND v7.5 software to the current versions.
__________________
-Steve- 2005 LLY Inglewood Transmission, EFI Live, PPE, ARP, Crower, BT Diesel, T&B Fab
Email: ASK.SSDT@GMAIL.com

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2017, 12:05 PM
RickDLance's Avatar
RickDLance RickDLance is offline
Vendor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,007
Default

I'll try that. Thanks
__________________
www.ProFabperformance.com

If it doesn't say Made in USA then look the other way!!

We also handle S & B filters and Air Dog lift pumps.

On my 19th Duramax & still Loving them!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2017, 12:15 PM
rfletes79's Avatar
rfletes79 rfletes79 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Galt, Ca 95632
Posts: 231
Default

Once you do the update, you can only edit in 7.5 but everything else happens in 8. Licensing, reading, flashing, etc......

If you open the tune in 8 and try to edit, it will do what you described in your OP, you would just hit the edit in 7.5 button and the software will launch 7.5 with the tune you selected in v8 to edit, save the tune then re-open the new saved tune in v8 then flash.
__________________
j

1970 Chevelle Duramax Hot Rod, '04 LB7/TH400-gear vendor, S475/factory IHI. Just a cruzer :-)

2002 2500HD LBY, stock LLY swap 5-24-15.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2017, 01:14 PM
yellowchevy yellowchevy is offline
Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Louisburg, KS for now
Posts: 1,757

Default

Don't forget to up date your firmwire.

Yellowchevy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2017, 01:44 PM
RickDLance's Avatar
RickDLance RickDLance is offline
Vendor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,007
Default

Thanks Guys!! Looks like it's up and working!!
__________________
www.ProFabperformance.com

If it doesn't say Made in USA then look the other way!!

We also handle S & B filters and Air Dog lift pumps.

On my 19th Duramax & still Loving them!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors