Duramax Diesels Forum Truck of the Week
  #1  
Old 05-15-2018, 03:49 PM
motobean95 motobean95 is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 7
Default 2008 duramax loses all electrical when trying to start

Hi everyone. I have an 08 duramax. Sometimes when I go to start it I turn key and ALL power shuts down lights gauges everything. Then I cuss and get angry and a few minutes later they all come back on and the truck starts just fine. Not throwing a code at all. Batteries are brand new . any suggestions?
Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2018, 05:28 PM
juddski88's Avatar
juddski88 juddski88 is offline
Freedom Diesel
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chesterfield, Mass.
Posts: 4,119

Default

Loose battery cable?
__________________
2001 Chevy 2500HD ECSB
"Sore Subject" - Still don't have time for it.
I would never have learned what I have without George Alexander, Mike Lovrich, David Browning, Matt Handwork, Ben Tyler, Evan Drosehn and countless members of this forum and others.
Thank you.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited, Ecodiesel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2018, 06:10 PM
Burn Down's Avatar
Burn Down Burn Down is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 6,322

Default

I was just messing with this on the 05', the exact same issue. Near as I can tell it was a loose connector at the at the tcm. This truck also had a BD Tap Shifter installed so I made sure these were clicked in place as well. Seems fine now and I can't move the harness around and make the power come and go.
__________________
04.5 CCSB ole blue, built trans, mpi twins
03 Reg Cab ZF 6
05 CCSB ole crappy, built eng, built trans, mpi twins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2018, 06:19 PM
2004LB7's Avatar
2004LB7 2004LB7 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 1,007

Default

Always check your battery connection first
__________________
2008 Chevrolet 3500HD DRW LTZ
285/75/17 Nitto Dura Grapplers, 4.56 gears, Front and rear ARB lockers, Efi Live tuning by me, Raptor 160 LP, Cognito 4-6 NTB Lift, 4" Exhaust, Built Trans by Mike L.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2018, 07:35 PM
motobean95 motobean95 is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 7
Default

Battery cables are clean and tight I thought maybe a loose harness too but it kind of resets itself after a min or so. Almost like a relay but I lose all power not just one thing or another
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2018, 07:46 PM
TheBac's Avatar
TheBac TheBac is offline
Why do I keep doing this?


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 11,447

Default

You should probably pull the cover off the underhood fuse box and check for evidence of rodent damage. I'd also check the main power lead integrity where it attaches in the box.
__________________
Tom
"BBT" -- 2003 GMC CC/SB 4x4 12.14@111.15
"Flyin' Brick" -- 1999 Chevy 1500 RC/SB 2wd -- stalled out, no motivation
"The Cruzer" -- 2014 Chevy Cruze Diesel -- the fun little DD
"The Bigger Boat" -- 2011 Workhorse P700 - 6.0LS/Allison - what I drive at work


Two wrongs dont make a right, but three rights do make a left.

Reality is a matter of perspective.

This forum isn't for the weak of heart.....or wallet.

"Lets build a race car they said. Itll be fun they said. I don't know who "they" are.........but they need a good punch in the face!" -- mufflerguy (yb)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2018, 09:45 PM
1FastBrick 1FastBrick is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Junkyard
Posts: 141
Default

Didn't the 07 and 08 have under hood fuse box connection issues in some cases causing an intermittent loss of power?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2018, 10:19 PM
motobean95 motobean95 is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1FastBrick View Post
Didn't the 07 and 08 have under hood fuse box connection issues in some cases causing an intermittent loss of power?
Anything more abut this????

It's weird cause a min or two later it comes right back to life on its own
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2018, 10:29 PM
1FastBrick 1FastBrick is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Junkyard
Posts: 141
Default

I remember a few people having issues that were tracked back to the connection under the fuse box.

See this thread. http://www.gminsidenews.com/forums/f...htmare-106736/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-16-2018, 12:52 PM
Ron Nielson Ron Nielson is offline
Gearhead
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Berryton, KS
Posts: 93
Default

When the problem occurs, start shaking the battery wires, wires to the fuse box, wire to the starter. Something will show up. Try connecting a jumper cable from the battery neg to the engine block, or to the firewall. No question there is a circuit problem. Corrosion can be a real problem. Just a 5 ohm load can kill a circuit and corrosion can be a 5 ohm problem easily. Any green powered stuff around or under the fuse box? Look for broken or chewed wires.
__________________
Ron Nielson

2008 Chevy Silverado LT, SRW, Crew Cab, LB, LMM/Allison, Rear lowered 2": otherwise, fully stock at this point. Edge Insight CTS
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-17-2018, 09:45 AM
motobean95 motobean95 is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Nielson View Post
When the problem occurs, start shaking the battery wires, wires to the fuse box, wire to the starter. Something will show up. Try connecting a jumper cable from the battery neg to the engine block, or to the firewall. No question there is a circuit problem. Corrosion can be a real problem. Just a 5 ohm load can kill a circuit and corrosion can be a 5 ohm problem easily. Any green powered stuff around or under the fuse box? Look for broken or chewed wires.
I don't see an corrosion. and I've tried playing with all the wires but like I said it comes back to life by its self in a min or two. I've tried to MAKE it do it but it just randomly does it when starting the truck . is there any relay that would kill EVERYTHING and then resets? I know there are many relays for this or that but I lose ALL power. No door locks or dome lights nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-17-2018, 09:59 AM
2004LB7's Avatar
2004LB7 2004LB7 is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 1,007

Default

I'd look closely at the mega fuse(s) and related wiring
__________________
2008 Chevrolet 3500HD DRW LTZ
285/75/17 Nitto Dura Grapplers, 4.56 gears, Front and rear ARB lockers, Efi Live tuning by me, Raptor 160 LP, Cognito 4-6 NTB Lift, 4" Exhaust, Built Trans by Mike L.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-18-2018, 09:09 AM
motobean95 motobean95 is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004LB7 View Post
I'd look closely at the mega fuse(s) and related wiring
Would the mega fuse reset itself after a min or two?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-17-2018, 10:30 PM
1FastBrick 1FastBrick is offline
Hotrodder
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Junkyard
Posts: 141
Default

Another Option could be the electrical part of the Ignition Starter Switch. I did one recently and their cheap and easy to do.

Vehicle would be dead. Left owner stranded in parking lot a few times. also stated it died at in intersection but restarted. Had it towed home 2 times. Always worked for me and could never get it to duplicate issue. After replacing the electrical part of the switch, The issue has not returned. I expected to find badly burnt or damaged contacts in side and that was not the case. At least it was fairly inexpensive part.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-18-2018, 09:11 AM
motobean95 motobean95 is offline
FNG
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1FastBrick View Post
Another Option could be the electrical part of the Ignition Starter Switch. I did one recently and their cheap and easy to do.

Vehicle would be dead. Left owner stranded in parking lot a few times. also stated it died at in intersection but restarted. Had it towed home 2 times. Always worked for me and could never get it to duplicate issue. After replacing the electrical part of the switch, The issue has not returned. I expected to find badly burnt or damaged contacts in side and that was not the case. At least it was fairly inexpensive part.
Would that such cause loss of electrical power to everything? INCLUDING dome lights and locks? WEIRD thing is it will reset after a min or two. NEVER dies while it's running .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors